Completed Students

Below is the list of students who have graduated from the Biotechnology PhD Program since its inception.

Click on the title to view the full thesis.


Dr. Jocelyn Bel

  • Thesis: Adipose tissue remodeling in response to corticosterone β3-adrenergic receptor agonist mirabegron
  • Co-Supervisors: Drs. Simon Lees and Neelam Khaper


Dr. Ryan Lehto

Dr. Mahshid Mohammadi

Dr. Armin Eraghi Kazzaz

Dr. Zahra Hosseinpour Feizi



Dr. Mahdieh Samavi

Dr. O'Neill Tedrow

  • Thesis: Development of response-predictive laboratory- and field-scale exposure scenarios to site-specific waters and sediments using wild rice
  • Supervisor: Dr. Peter Lee

Dr. Meijia Zhang

Dr. Ashley Nemec-Bakk

  • Thesis: Stess-induced fetal programming of adult C57BL/6 mice: Study of cardiac and hepatic glucose metabolism and oxidative stress
  • Supervisor: Dr. Neelam Khaper

Dr. Sepideh Dadgar

Dr. Gabrielle Gaultier

Dr. Harutyun Poladyan

  • Thesis: Organ-specific positron emission tomography devices based on SiPMs
  • Supervisor: Dr. Alla Reznik



Dr. Azadeh Bahramian 

  • Thesis: New analytical and numerical approaches for calculating the gas holdup and drift velocity in bubble columns
  • Supervisor: Dr. Siamak Elyasi (Chemical Engineering)

Dr. Andrew Drainville 

  • Thesis:  Principles of superposition in viscoelastic finite-difference modelling
  • Supervisor: Dr. Samuel Pichardo (formerly with Chemical Engineering)

Dr. Robert Jackson

 Dr. Sara E. Maleki

  • Thesis:  Anaerobic membrane bioreactor for malting wastewater treatment and energy recovery under different temperature conditions
  • SupervisorDr. Baoqiang Liao (Chemical Engineering)

 Dr. Venkatesh Subramanian Manikandan  

Dr. Ayyappa Kumar Sista Kameshwar  



Dr. Melissa Togtema 

  • Thesis:  The application of personalized medicine approaches to human papillomavirus 16-related cancers
  • Supervisor: Dr. Ingeborg Zehbe (formerly with Biology)

Dr. Chris Abraham

  • Thesis:  Magnetic resonance imaging guidance of high intensity focused ultrasound: Optimizing guidance on pre-clinical models
  • SupervisorDr. Laura Curiel (formerly with Chemical Engineering)

Dr. Alaa Alhazmi 

Dr. Agha Hasan 



Dr. Shafiqur Rahman 

Dr. Sahar Khedri 

Dr. Bijaya Kumar Uprety

Dr. Bal Ram Adhikari 

Dr. Mohan Konduri  



Dr. Marcus Couch 

Dr. Christina Mol 

Dr. Ashley Untereiner 

Dr. Nadiya Dragneva 

Dr. Stephanie Puukila 



Dr. Brenda Magajna  

Dr. Jordan Lewicky   

Dr. Peipei Wang

Dr. Young Jun Ju


Dr. Andrew Gibson

Dr. Ali Azizishirazi

Dr. William Dew

Dr. Ling Zhang



Dr. Miranda Maki

Dr. Bruce Rosa

Dr. Mehdi Dashtban



Dr. Susanne Walford

Dr. Weijue Gao

Dr. Asieh Ahmadalinezhad