Completed Students

2019 

Dr. Ayyappa Kumar Sista Kameshwar  asistak@lakeheadu.ca
A novel metadata analysis approach for analyzing and understanding wood-decaying mechanisms exhibited by fungi
Supervisor: Dr. Wensheng Qin (Biology)

2018 

Dr. Melissa Togtema  mtogtema@lakeheadu.ca
The application of personalized medicine approaches to Human Papillomavirus 16-related cancers
Supervisor: Dr. Ingeborg Zehbe (Biology)
 
Dr. Chris Abraham  cabraham@lakeheadu.ca
Magnetic resonance imaging guidance of high intensity focussed ultrasound: Optimizing guidance on pre-clinical models
Supervisor: Dr. Laura Curiel (Chemical Engineering)
 
Dr. Alaa Alhazmi  aalhazmi@lakeheadu.ca   
Exploration of Inflammasomes is Targets for Therapy of Pseudomonas aeruginosa Infection
Supervisor: Dr. Marina Ulanova (NOSM, Biology adjunct)
 
Dr. Agha Hasan  ahasan1@lakeheadu.ca  
Advanced Lignin-based Flocculent or Dispersant for Wastewater Treatment
Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi (Chemical Engineering)

2017

Dr. Shafiqur Rahman mrahman7@lakeheadu.ca  
Bioconversion of Crude Glycerols to Biofuels and Value-added Bioproducts
Supervisor: Dr. Wensheng Qin (Biology)     
 
Dr. Sahar Khedri   skhedri@lakeheadu.ca
Kinetic and Thermodynamic Studies on Pyrolysis of Waste HDPE Polymers
Supervisor: Dr. Siamak Elyasi (Chemical Engineering)
 
Dr. Bijaya Kumar Uprety   buprety@lakeheadu.ca
Conversion of Crude Glycerol from the Biodiesel Industry to Value-added Products
Supervisor: Dr. Sudip Rakshit (Chemical Engineering)
 
Dr. Bal Ram Adhikari  badhikar@lakeheadu.ca 
Nanomaterials Based Electrochemical Approaches for Biosensing and Bacterial Disinfection
Supervisor: Dr. Aicheng Chen (Chemistry)
 
Dr. Mohan Konduri   mkonduri@lakeheadu.ca
New Generation of Dispersants by Graftign Lignin or Xylan
Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi (Chemical Engineering)
 

2016

Dr. Young Jun Ju yju@lakeheadu.ca
H2S S-sulfhydration of Pyruvate Carboxylase in Gluconeogenesis and its Regulation by Trx1
Supervisor: Dr. Rui Wang (Biology)
 
Dr. Peipei Wang pwang@lakeheadu.ca
H2S as a Novel Biomarker adn Therapeutic Target for Asthma
Supervisor: Dr. Rui Wang (Biology)
 
Dr. Marcus Couch  mcouch@lakeheadu.ca
Functional Imaging of the Lungs Using Magnetic Resonance Imaging of Inert Fluorinated Gases
Supervisor: Dr. Mitchell Albert (Chemistry)
 
Dr. Christina Mol  cmol@lakeheadu.ca
Bioremediation of Contaminated Soils from Mine Sites Using Native Plants in Northwestern Ontario
Supervisor: Dr. Peter Lee (Biology)
 
Dr. Ashley Untereiner aunterei@lakeheadu.ca
Hydrogen Sulfide Modulates Gluconeogenesis and Mitochanodrial Biogenesis in Mouse Primary Hepatocytes
Supervisor: Dr. Lingyun Wu (Biology)
 
Dr. Nadiya Dragneva ndragnev@lakeheadu.ca
Modeling the Molecular Mechanisms of Biocompatibility of Artificial Materials
Supervisor: Dr. Oleg Rubel (Chemistry)
 
Dr. Stephanie Puukila spuukila@lakeheadu.ca
Cardiac Oxidative Stress and Antioxidant Status in Response to Radiation and Monocrotaline-induced Cardiac Dysfunction
Supervisor: Dr. Neelam Khaper (Biology)

2015

 
Dr. Jordan Lewicky   jlewicky@lakeheadu.ca
Adventures in Immunochemistry: Towards a fully synthetic vaccine 
Supervisor: Dr. Justin Jiang (Chemistry)
 

2014

Dr. Ali Azizishirazi    aazizish@lakeheadu.ca   
Dr. Zaid Altaany   azaid@lakeheadu.ca
Interaction of endogenous H2S with endothelial NO synthesized in vascular tissues
Supervisor: Dr. Rui Wang (Biology)  
 

2013

Dr. William Dew   wdew@lakeheadu.ca

2012

Dr. Mehdi Dashtban   mdashtba@lakeheadu.ca 
Engineering fungi for large-scale production of cellulase
Supervisor:  Dr. Wensheng Qin (Biology) 
 
 
Dr. Miranda Maki   mimaki@lakeheadu.ca
Development of Bacterial Systems for Large-scale Production of Cellulase and Bioethanol
Supervisors:  Dr. Wensheng Qin (Biology), Dr. Kam Leung (Biology)               
 
Dr. Bruce Rosa  barosa@lakeheadu.ca
Improving Novel Gene Discovery in High-Throughput Gene Expression Datasets
Supervisor: Dr. Wensheng Qin (Biology, Biorefining Research Initiative)