Office of Sustainability

Please see the following toolkit from Health and Wellness for managing your health during the COVID-19 crisis. This kit includes tips for coping with anxiety, where to access food in Thunder Bay and Orillia, how to practice social distancing, and more. For other information, such as how to access funding, please visit Lakehead's COVID-19 Updates page.

There are many ways the current global crisis is connected to sustainability. It is related to our collective health and well-being, the security of our livelihoods, whether our leaders promote equity among all peoples, and how we support one another in a time of uncertainty. The suddenness of this situation can be overwhelming and can make us feel anxious at times. When such feelings occur, we can turn to Nature, a witness to so many events these past few billion years. We can steady ourselves in the knowledge that no matter what, the​sun keeps on rising and the trees keep on growing. 

Sustainability is a diverse, global movement in society, economics, environment, and in higher education. At Lakehead University, sustainability is being considered in a pluralistic and inclusive way, encompassing human and ecological health, social justice and equity, Indigenous rights, secure livelihoods, workplace well-being, and leadership for vibrant and resilient communities. 

See the 2019-2024 Sustainability Plan for more information on how Lakehead University is committed to sustainability.

Building a sustainable university means engaging in a culture shift--where all levels of the University including senior administration, faculty, staff, as well as students, work collaboratively together to find innovative solutions to one of the greatest challenges of our times.



News & Events


Commuter Challenge Cancelled for 2020
One of our favourite annual campaigns, Commuter Challange, is cancelled this year due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation. The campaign's decision is... full story
Recycle Your Office Supplies
On March 24 and 25, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., drop off your ink and toner cartridges/drum units/writing supplies/batteries at the designated station in... full story
Open Call for Student Nominations to Lakehead's Sustainability Stewardship Council
Lakehead University is looking for one student from Thunder Bay and one student from Orillia to act as a representative to the Lakehead University... full story
Participate in Carpool Month this February and Win Prizes!
The Office of Sustainability, partnered with Commute Ontario, invites you to participate in this year’s Carpool Month campaign ( full story

Lakehead University respectfully acknowledges its campuses are located on the traditional lands of Indigenous peoples.

Lakehead Thunder Bay is located on the traditional lands of the Fort William First Nation, Signatory to the Robinson Superior Treaty of 1850. Lakehead Orillia is located on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabeg. The Anishinaabeg include the Ojibwe, Odawa, and Pottawatomi nations, collectively known as the Three Fires Confederacy.

Lakehead University acknowledges the history that many nations hold in the areas around our campuses, and is committed to a relationship with First Nations, Métis, and Inuit peoples based on the principles of mutual trust, respect, reciprocity, and collaboration in the spirit of reconciliation.