Current Student List

2020 Fall

Behrooz Afra  

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisors: Dr. Ali Tarokh

Janak Raj Khatiwada  

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisors: Dr. Wensheng Qin

Banchamlak Kassaun

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisors: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

Magdy Alanani

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisors: Dr. Ahmed Elshaer

Nicholas Bel 

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisors: Dr. Neelam Khaper

Maegen Lavalee  

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisors: Dr. Alla Reznik and Dr. Zubair Fadlullah

Maliheh Sabershahraki

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisors: Dr. Amir Azimi

2020 Winter

Mohammad Babazadeh mbabazad@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Mineralization of Naphthenic Acids by Coupling Catalytic Ozonation and Membrane Bio-reactor
  • Supervisors: Dr. Ebrahim Rezaei 

Taha Sadeghi  tsadeghi@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Aerosol Delivery to Human Respiratory Tract Using Oral Inhaler Devices: In-vitro and CFD Modeling Approaches
  • Supervisors: Dr.Leila Pakzad and Dr. Ehsan Behzadfar

Seyedeh Afrouz Kaboli skaboli@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Boosting Antibacterial and Composting Lignin Base Material
  • Supervisors: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

Niravkumar Kosamia  nkosamia@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Techno-economic feasibility of biorefining processes
  • Supervisors: Dr. Sudip Rakshit

2019 Fall

Ruth Amanna   ramanna@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Induction of bacterial enzymes for enhanced biodegradation of PET
  • Supervisors: Dr. Sudip Rakshit

Ryan Grow  rgrow@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: The Contribution of Fish Movement to Ecosystem Function in Lake Superior
  • Supervisors: Dr. Micheal Rennie

Farzad Gholami   fgholami@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Morphological and Rheological Investigation of Multilayer Polymeric Composites
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Leila Pakzad and Dr. Ehsan Behzadfar

Zahra Farnaz Shomali   zshomali@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Development and characterization of lignin-based thermoplastics for packaging application
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Pedram Fatehi and Dr. Ehsan Behzadfar

Shumsun Siddique  ssiddiq3@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Dynamic stability of pile foundations in liquifiable soil during earthquake
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Eltayeb Mohamedelhassan and Dr. Jian Deng

Farnia Dastoorian   fdastoor@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Aerosol drug delivery to the lung from the mouth to throat pathway: In vitro and Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) simulation
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Leila Pakzad and Dr. Ehsan Behzadfar

2019 Spring

Sarita Shrestha   sshrest4@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Exploration of Novel Pectinase-producing Bacteria and Molecular Cloning of Bacterial Pectinase Gene for Cost Effective Production of Pectinase in Microbial Fermentation Systems
  • Supervisors: Dr. Wensheng Qin

Xuantong Chen   xchen24@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Functional Analysis of Fatty Acid Desaturase and Vacuolar-type H+-ATPase Genes in Marine Alga Pleurochrysis dentata and Overexpression of Genes for Enhancing Algal Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids Production and Calcium Carbonate Accumulation
  • Supervisors: Dr. Wensheng Qin 

Nadia Sufdar Ali   nsufdar@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: HTP screening of microorganisms for novel ligninolytic enzymes and application in biomass valorization
  • Supervisors: Dr. Wensheng Qin

2019 Winter

Yichen Liao   yliao1@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Cellulose based bioplastic from modified pulp fibres
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Pedram Fatehi and Dr. Md. Nur Alam

Hamid Mortazavi   hmortaza@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: A comprehensive study on moving baffle oscillatory baffled reactor: experimental and CFD approaches
  • Supervisor: Dr. Leila Pakzad

2018 Fall

Jocelyn Bel   jsbel@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: TBD
  • Supervisor: Dr. Neelam Khaper

Jonathan Alejandro Diaz Baca   jdiazba@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Lignin-Starch Copolymer as a New Flocculant for the Treatment of Mining Wastewater
  • Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

Mahsa Janati   mjannati@lakeheadu.ca  

  • Thesis: Dynamic Interaction of Two Particle Clouds in Stagnant Water
  • Supervisor: Dr. Amir Azimi

Maryam Amini   mamini@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Electrokinetic and Electrochemical Approaches for Fouling Mitigation in Membrane Photobioreactors
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Baoqiang Liao & Dr. Eltayeb Mohamedelhassan

Duowei Lu  dlu5@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Experimental and modeling research on a lignin-based dispersion system considering DVLO theory
  • Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

Aristide Laurel Mokale Kognou  amokale@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Characterization of Novel Biodegrading Bacterial Species and Production of High Purity Fructose-Containing Syrups from Cornstalk via Bioconversion
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Wensheng Qin, Dr. Chun-Bao Xu, Dr. Zi-Hua Jiang

2018 Winter

Ellen Silverio Vieira  esilveri@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Development of starch/hemicellulose films for use in packaging
  • Supervisor: Dr. Sudip Rakshit

2017 Fall

Nathan Wilson   nwilson1@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Rapid response environmental assessment and monitoring
  • Supervisor: Dr. Carney Matheson

Chris Chio   cchio@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Depoloarization of lignin, characterization of derived products and potential applications of the value-added chemicals
  • Supervisor: Dr. Wensheng Qin

2017 Winter

Mahshid Mohammadi  mmohamm7@lakeheadu.ca 

  • Thesis: Identification, characterization and application of the lichen, Umbilicaria muhlenbergii as a promising anti-cancer agent
  • Supervisor: TBD

2015 Fall

Ryan Lehto  rlehto@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Biocrystallization of linear DNA as a long term storage method
  • Supervisor: Dr. Carney Matheson