Current Student List

2019 Winter

Yichen Liao   yliao1@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: 
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Pedram Fatehi and Dr. Md. Nur Alam

Hamid Mortazavi   hmortaza@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: 
  • Supervisor: Dr. Leila Pakzad

2018 Fall

Jocelyn Bel   jsbel@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Dexamethasone-induced fetal programming: Its effects on glucose metabolism and inflammation in adipose tissue
  • Supervisor: Dr. Neelam Khaper

Jonathan Alejandro Diaz Baca   jdiazba@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: 
  • Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

Mahsa Janati   mjannati@lakeheadu.ca  

  • Thesis: 
  • Supervisor: Dr. Amir Azimi

Aida Bagheri Basmenji   abagheri@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: 
  • Supervisor: Dr. Amir Azimi

Tooran Tavangar  ttavanga@lakeheadu.ca 

  • Thesis: 
  • Supervisor: Dr. Amir Azimi

Maryam Amini   mamini@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: 
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Baoqiang Liao & Dr. Eltayeb Mohamedelhassan

Duowei Lu  dlu5@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: 
  • Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

Aristide Laurel Mokale Kognou  amokale@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: 
  • Co-Supervisors: Dr. Wensheng Qin, Dr. Chun-Bao Xu, Dr. Zi-Hua Jiang

2018 Winter

Ellen Silverio Vieira  esilveri@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Development of starch/hemicellulose films for use in packaging
  • Supervisor: Dr. Sudip Rakshit

2017 Fall

Meijia Zhang  mzhang15@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Research on membrane fouling in membrane bioreactors (MBR)
  • Supervisor: Dr. Baoqiang Liao

Nathan Wilson   nwilson1@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Rapid response environmental assessment and monitoring
  • Supervisor: Dr. Carney Matheson

Chris Chio   cchio@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Depoloarization of lignin, characterization of derived products and potential applications of the value-added chemicals
  • Supervisor: Dr. Wensheng Qin

2017 Spring

Armin Eraghi Kazzaz  aeraghi@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Amphoteric lignin as a value-added product
  • Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

2017 Winter

Mahshid Mohammadi  mmohamm7@lakeheadu.ca 

  • Thesis: Identification, characterization and application of the lichen, Umbilicaria muhlenbergii as a promising anti-cancer agent
  • Supervisor: Dr. Lew Christopher

2016 Fall

Ashley NemecBakk  asnemec@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Impact of low-dose radiation during late gestation on oxidative stress and cellular function
  • Supervisor: Dr. Neelam Khaper

Azadeh Bahramian  abahrami@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Modeling a fluidized bed reactor for catalytic pyrolysis of HDPE
  • Supervisor: Dr. Siamak Elyasi

Mahdieh Samavi  msamavi@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Production of fully bio-based polyurethane from hemicellulose-rich stream
  • Supervisor: Dr. Sudip Rakshit

Zahra Hosseinpour Feizi   zhossein@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Production of anioinic cellulose nanocrystals (CNC) as a dispersant
  • Supervisor: Dr. Pedram Fatehi

2015 Fall

Gabrielle Gaultier

Gabrielle Gaultier  gngaulti@lakeheadu.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Marina Ulanova

B cell responses to 13-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine in patients with severe chronic kidney disease

 Ryan Lehto  rlehto@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Biocrystallization of linear DNA as a long term storage method
  • Supervisor: Dr. Carney Matheson

Tyson Bouchard tbouchar@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Comparison of alternative toxicity testing methods: The development of an in vitro chronic toxicity test
  • Supervisor: Dr. Peter Lee

Venkateshsubramanian Manikandan vmanikan@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Development of nanostructured material based electrochemical sensors for food safety and quality control
  • Supervisor: Dr. Aicheng Chen

2015 Winter

Sepideh Dadgar sdadgar1@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Protease activatable probes for molecular imaging metastatic potential
  • Supervisor: Dr. Chris Phenix

2014 Fall

O'Neill Tedrow otedrow@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: A site-specific approach to sulphate standard development with an emphasis on wild rice: Implications for NPDES permitting recommendations
  • Supervisor: Dr. Peter Lee 

2014 Spring

Harutyun Poladyan hpoladya@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Organ-specific positron emission tomography devices based on SiPM
  • Supervisor: Dr. Alla Reznik

2014 Winter

Rob Jackson

Robert Jackson  rjackso1@lakeheadu.ca

Supervisor: Dr. Ingeborg Zehbe

Human Papillomavirus Type 16 variants in a skin model: A study of virus-host relationships

2013 Fall

R. Andrew Drainvilleradrainv@lakeheadu.ca

  • Thesis: Tunable mid-infrared fiber laser for biomedical applications
  • Supervisor: Dr. Samuel Pichardo