Spiropoulos and Rodger named Lakehead Orillia athletes of the year

A smiling woman with dark hair and a smiling man with short dark hair hold a wooden plaques stating Athletes of the Year

2018-19 athletes of the year Gia Spiropoulos (left) and Ryan Rodger (right).

A group of 18 young men and women proudly hold up their plaques for MVP and Rookie of the Year

 Pictured above are the students who received most valuable player (MVP), team, and rookie of the year awards in each of Lakehead Orillia’s sports teams: varsity golf, equestrian, men’s and women’s hockey, dance, men’s and women’s varsity indoor soccer, and men’s and women’s basketball.


April 5, 2019 – Orillia, ON

Lakehead University Orillia celebrated a successful 2018-19 athletics season on Friday, April 5 by handing out their awards at the annual Athletic Awards Banquet held at Hawk Ridge Golf and Country Club.

Gia Spiropoulos (Women’s Basketball) walked away with the Female Athlete of the Year, with Ryan Rodger (Men’s Hockey) claiming Male Athlete of the Year.

“Being an athlete is a lot of work on top of being a full-time student, and in some cases, juggling a part-time job,” said Elana Weber, Student Athletics and Wellness Coordinator, at Friday night’s banquet. “Tonight, we recognize you as leaders, passionate members and ambassadors of Lakehead University, and proud Thunderwolves.”

Awards were also presented to top student athletes in each of the University’s sports teams: varsity golf, equestrian, men’s and women’s hockey, dance, men’s and women’s varsity indoor soccer, and men’s and women’s basketball. Most valuable player and rookie of the year were announced and presented by the team coaches, who were also recognized and thanked by the University.

A complete list of award winners from the evening can be found below as well as on our website www.orilliathunderwolves.ca


Major Award Winners

Female Athlete of the Year
Gia Spiropoulos – Women’s Basketball

Male Athlete of the Year
Ryan Rodger – Men’s Hockey


Team Awards

Tori Beauchemin, Sophia Varga and Jill Widdifield

Varsity Golf
MVP: Jeremy Ruth
Rookie of the Year: Jake Akan

Men’s Hockey
MVP: Colton Stone
Rookie of the Year: Jonathan Corkery

Women’s Hockey
MVP: Melani Moylan
Rookie of the Year: Aimee Tindale

MVP: Kresson Taylor
Rookie of the Year: Kali Wintermute

Men’s Varsity Indoor Soccer
MVP: Maximilian Hayes
Rookie of the Year: Shane Tonkonog

Women’s Varsity Indoor Soccer
MVP: Madison Leigh
Rookie of the Year: Ally Morris

Men’s Basketball
MVP: Connor Garrison
Rookie of the Year: Samson Kennedy-Bissah

Women’s Basketball
MVP: Rebecca Alize-Minty
Rookie of the Year: Chelsea Wopnford