2014 Mathematics Competition


Contest Date:  Thursday, April 24, 2014

Questions?  The organizers can be contacted through the Administrative Assistant for the Department of Mathematical Sciences.  Please email Robbie Buffington at rbuffing@lakeheadu.ca or call 807-343-8469.


Students within Thunder Bay and in the neighbouring communities will be invited to the Thunder Bay campus of Lakehead University to write the contest.  Students at schools who cannot make it to Thunder Bay will be able to write the contest at their own schools.

There will only be an individual contest for this year's contest.


Here's the schedule for the contest on April 24, 2014 at the Thunder Bay Campus.

08:45 - 09:30   - Registration (RB 1042)
09:30 - 09:45   - Welcome (RB 1042)
09:45 - 11:00   - Individual contest (RB 1042)
11:00 - 11:15  - Group Photo
11:20 - 1:00    - Lunch at the OUTPOST and math games
01:00 -  1:30   - Awards Presentation for Individual Contest (RB 1042)
01:30             - Students return to their schools
Contest Rules:  No calculators are allowed. The contest is 75 minutes in length. Each school will divide their students into teams of 3, and we also award prizes to the top teams as well as the top individuals.
Teachers and/or Chaperones:  During the individual contest, all teachers and chaperones are invited to Ryan Building 2023 for free coffee and goodies.
Contest Headquarters:  During the contest, students and/or teachers can find needed information by either checking the door of Ryan Building 1042 or going to Ryan Building 2023, our contest HQ.
Prizes:  Prizes for students who write in Thunder Bay will be handed out on the day of the contest.  For students who are writing outside of the Thunder Bay campus of Lakehead, you  will receive their prizes and results within one to two weeks of the contest.  The two (2) $500 Entrance Prizes are awarded in September.

Solutions:  Solutions to both contests will appear appear on the website within one week of the contest.


This contest is made possible with the donations from many sponsors, who would like to recognize: TD Canada Trust, TB Ventures, TB Hydro, TB Chinese Canadian Association, Engineering Northwest, TBT Engineering, BMO Nesbitt Burns, Canadian Mathematical Society, and Lakehead University