Killam Prizes


Equity, diversity and inclusion are fundamental to achieving research excellence. The National Killam Program encourages nominations of candidates whose research has consequence and impact, setting precedents and yielding transformative results that serve to build Canada’s future through advanced study. Below are eligibility criteria to consider when submitting a nomination:

  • Individual nominations may include nomination for multiple categories, but an individual may only be awarded the Killam Prize in 1 category.
  • No individual may be awarded a Killam Prize more than once.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted for the Killam Prize; only nominations by experts in their field.
  • Killam Prizes are intended for active (not retired) Canadian scholars who have made a substantial and distinguished contribution, over a significant period, to scholarly research. A Killam Prize is not intended as an “end-of-service” reward, as a recognition for a single great accomplishment, or in expectation of future distinguished contributions. Only Canadian citizens or scholars working and living in Canada are eligible, and the prizes are awarded only to living candidates.
  • National Killam Program Office employees, members of the National Killam Program Advisory Board, or the Selection Committee may not be nominated during their term as members, and for 1 year following the end of their term.
  • A nominator may resubmit a nomination for a specific nominee as many times as desired. However, a new nomination package is required for any subsequent nomination.
How to Apply: 
The Killam Prizes are intended to honour distinguished Canadian scholars who have been engaged in research in universities, hospitals, research or scientific institutes, or other similar institutions.
They are awarded annually, on a competitive basis, for research done in any of the following disciplines (Normally, 1 prize is awarded each year in each of the 5 disciplines):
  • humanities
  • social sciences
  • natural sciences
  • health sciences
  • engineering
If you are interested in being nominated for one of these prizes,  please contact Dr. Batia Stolar, Associate Vice-President, Research and Graduate Studies, at
External Deadline: 
Thursday, June 30, 2022
Award Category: 
Funding Source: 
Funding Level: