Canada Research Chairs

In 2000, the Government of Canada created a permanent program to establish 2,000 research professorships—Canada Research Chairs—in eligible degree-granting institutions across the country.  The Canada Research Chairs Program invests approximately $265 million per year to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.

Chairholders aim to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. They improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada's international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching, and the coordination of other researchers' work.

Archived: 2019 Call for Proposals for New Tier 2 SSHRC or CIHR Canada Research Chair

Canada Research Chairs - Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Lakehead University Strategic Research Plan Summary


Lakehead University Canada Research Chairs:

Chair in Low-dimensional Nanomaterials

  • Dr. Maryam Ebrahimi, Department of Chemistry

Chair in Green Chemicals and Processes

Chair in Social-Ecological Health

Chair in Culture, Media and Social Justice

Chair in Sustainable Food Systems

Chair in Indigenous Mental Health and Addiction

Chair in Bioenergy and Biorefining Processes

  •  Dr. Sudip Rakshit, Department of Chemical Engineering and Lakehead University Biorefining Research Institute

Chair in Freshwater Ecology and Fisheries

Chair in Physics of Radiation Medical Imaging

  •  Dr. Alla Reznik, Department of Physics and Thunder Bay Regional Research Institute

 Chair in Arts Integrated Studies

Chair in Human Origins