Alumni and Faculty Receive Awards

The Department of History is pleased to announce that alumni and faculty have received three of the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society’s Publications Awards at the annual President’s Reception held on Sunday, Jan. 4. 2015 TBHMS Publications Awards

Beverly Soloway (HBA 2006, MA 2007) received the J.P. Bertrand Award for her article “The Fur Traders’ Garden: Horticultural Imperialism in Rupert’s Land, 1670 – 1770,” which appeared in Irish and Scots Encounters with Indigenous Peoples, edited by David A. Wilson (McGill-Queen’s University Press).

Michel S. Beaulieu (HBA 2001, BEd 2001, MA 2003) received the Gertrude H. Dyke Award for his book Celluloid Dreams: An Illustrated History of Early Film at the Lakehead, 1900-1931 (Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society), and he received the M. Elizabeth Arthur Award for his book Labour at the Lakehead: Ethnicity, Socialism, and Politics, 1900-35 (University of British Columbia Press).

Congratulations also to alumni Mark Chochla (BA 1967, BEd 1974, HBA 1975, MED 1987), Roy Piovesana (BA 1965, MA 1969), John Potestio (HBA 1970, MA 1981), and faculty member C. Nathan Hatton (MA 2007) who were also nominated in various categories.

Adjudicated by an independent panel of jurors, the awards are given out every two years for the best publications dealing with the history of Northwestern Ontario. Please click here for more information about the awards.

Image: Front row (l-r): Sara Janes and Beth Boegh (presenters). Back row (l-r): Jim Foulds (winner of the George B. Macgillivray Award for best popular articles); Michel Beauleu (winner of the Elizabeth Arthur and the Gertrude H. Dyke Awards for best  academic and popular books); Ernie Epp (presenter); Bev Soloway (winner of the J.P. Bertrand Award for best academic article); and Jesse Roberts (presenter/juror)