English Graduate Faculty and Areas of Specialization

Faculty Member / email

Area of Specialization

Dr. Alice den Otter

adenotte@lakeheadu.ca

British romantic literature (especially William Blake, Anna Letitia Barbauld, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, and Mary Shelley), gift exchange, and rhetorical theory

Dr. Monica Flegel

monica.flegel@lakeheadu.ca

Cultural studies, specifically: Victorian literature and culture; children's literature and culture; fan and media studies; and animal studies

Dr. Anna Guttman

anna.guttman@lakeheadu.ca

Postcolonial literature and culture, including literature and culture of Asia, Africa, the Caribbean and their diasporas; multicultural literature; travel writing; women's writing; gender and sexuality; nations and nationalisms; globalization

Dr. Max Haiven

mhaiven@lakeheadu.ca

 

Cultural and media studies; critical theory; political economy of culture and cultural production; cultures of capitalism and finance; social movements; oppression, exploitation and inequality.

Dr. Daniel Hannah

daniel.hannah@lakeheadu.ca

American literature (especially nineteenth-century); British romantic literature; transatlantic studies; comics and graphic narratives; queer theory; ecocriticism.

Dr. Douglas Hayes

douglas.hayes@lakeheadu.ca

Medieval and Tudor drama, classical, medieval, and renaissance rhetoric, Scots Makars, scholarly editing, and digital humanities

Dr. Douglas Ivison

douglas.ivison@lakeheadu.ca

Canadian literature; urban and spatial studies; science fiction; popular culture; travel and adventure narratives; ecocriticism

Dr. Judith Leggatt

judith.leggatt@lakeheadu.ca

Indigenous literature and theory; speculative fiction; Canadian literature; Caribbean literature; women's literature

Dr. Cheryl Lousley

clousley@lakeheadu.ca

Contemporary Canadian literature, environmental literary and cultural studies, feminist studies, social and cultural theory, and globalization

Dr. Chris Parkes

chris.parkes@lakeheadu.ca

Children's literature, and eighteenth-century literature

Dr. Scott Pound

scott.pound@lakeheadu.ca

Poetry and poetics, media history, the literary avant-gardes, and American literature, and also supervise creative projects in a variety of modes and genres

Dr. Mike Richardson

mike.richardson@lakeheadu.ca

Renaissance literature and the works of Joss Whedon

Dr. Jenny Roth

Adjunct to Department of English

jroth@lakeheadu.ca

Feminist law and literature, cyberfeminism, feminist cultural studies and fan studies, and women and leadership

Dr. Batia Stolar

batia.stolar@lakeheadu.ca

Immigrant literatures and film, Canadian and American literatures, visual culture, the Gothic

Dr. Rachel Warburton

rachel.warburton@lakeheadu.ca

Early modern (16th and 17th century) English literature and culture; early women's writing; histories of sexuality; feminist, gender, and queer theory