Dr. Todd Dufresne Publishes New Book Examining Climate Change

The Democracy of Suffering: Life on the Edge of Catastrophe, Philosophy in the Anthropocene (McGill-Queen's UP, October 2019) by Dr. Todd Dufresne, Department of Philosophy, will be released this year. Noted famous American environmental activist, Bill McKibben writes "This is a very fine book: philosophy perfectly attuned to our precise -- and unique -- moment, a moment when our species became suddenly very big indeed."

Dufresne publication photo book jacket The Democracy of Suffering

New Book Release for Dr. Todd Dufresne

Read more about Dr. Dufresne's latest publication here.

Philosophy Winter Newsletter

Volume 1, Issue 2 is available online ... Philosophy reunion great success, a night of philosophy and performance that was not to be missed.

Dr. Jason Blahuta Publishes New Book

Congratulations to Dr. Blahuta on his publication of Fortune and the Dao: A Comparative Study of Machiavelli, the Daodejing, and the Han Feizi. Read more about this in the first issue of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities Newsletter (Volume 1, Winter 2016).

Philosophy Fall Newsletter

Volume 2 Issue 1 is available online … meet our contract lecturers, in print!

Philosophy Winter Newsletter

Volume 2, Issue 2 is available online … read about recent events, and Westworld.

Memorial Service for Heather Saaltink

A memorial service for Heather Saaltink will be held on Thursday, January 22, 2009 at 6:30 pm at the Avila Chapel at Lakehead University on Reaume Street.  Following the service, there will be an informal gathering at "The Study", which is located on the main campus, commencing at 8:00 pm.

All those who knew Heather are welcome to attend in celebration of Heather's life. In honouring Heather, it is asked that if you would like to share your thoughts and memories at this time, please email them to the Philosophy Department in care of gfikis@lakeheadu.ca to the Attention of Dr. Sacchetti-Dufresne.

Heather was a First Class Honours student in Philosophy, maintaining an A average, which is all the more impressive in light of her athletic activities. She was a strong and independent thinker interested <div">in Feminist philosophy, and a well-rounded human being who balanced work with play and made the very most of her university experience at Lakehead. Heather was a beautiful person, inside and out, and will be sorely missed by everyone lucky enough to have known her - including her professors in Philosophy and Women's Studies. 

A Heather Saaltink Memorial Award has been established and donations are being accepted by the Office of University Advancement or at the service.

Please feel free to pass on this information to others you know would like to contribute or attend.

Heather Saaltink Memorial Award, Recipient Rheanna Geisel

Heather Saaltink was a student athlete and Philosophy major who passed away in 2008 as the result of a motor vehicle accident when her car was struck by an impaired driver. Heather's memory is honoured annually to "a 4th year student athlete, who is active at the Varsity or club level and demonstrates a commitment to environmental protection and social justice, inspiring others to make a difference." Congratulations to Rheanna Geisel LU Women's Varsity Volleyball Team middle blocker. Read more about this in the Winter issue of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities Newsletter (Winter 2017).

Dr. Todd Dufresne Publishes New Book

This is a new translation of Freud's Civilization and Its Discontents. It is the third and last in a series of Freud's philosophical works that Dr. Dufresne has edited. Read more about this in the Fall issue of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities Newsletter (Volume 2, Fall 2016).

Dr. Dufresne Appointed Research Chair



Lakehead Announces Research Awards, Appointments, and Honours

(March 7, 2008, Thunder Bay, Ontario) Lakehead University is pleased to announce a number of research honours, presented during the University's Research and Innovation Week 2008.  The awards include four Research Chairs, Distinguished Researchers, High Output Publication Excellence (HOPE), and Contribution to Research.
"Our researcher's capabilities and achievements add to the University's capacity as a research-intensive institution, and contribute to building a knowledge-based economy in Thunder Bay and northwestern Ontario," says Dr. Rui Wang, Vice-President of Research at Lakehead University.  Lakehead University President Dr. Fred Gilbert also acknowledges the ongoing achievements of Lakehead's researchers, and the important role their works play in moving the University's research growth forward.  "Our research developments and successes not only generate interest and awareness around the globe, but also add to Lakehead University's reputation as a growing world-class research institution."

Research Chairs Appointed
Four Chairs have been awarded - two within the discipline of Social Sciences and Humanities, and two within the discipline of Natural Sciences and Engineering.  These are:

Dr. Lori Chambers, Department of Women's Studies
Dr. Todd Dufresne, Department of Philosophy
Dr. Steve Kinrade, Department of Chemistry
Dr. Baoqiang Liao, Department of Chemical Engineering

The next Lakehead University Research Chairs call for proposals will take place in the Fall of 2009 to allocate an additional two Chairs.   This is a pilot program that will be evaluated once all six Chairs have been awarded.

Distinguished Researcher 2006/2007
2006 Recipient
Dr. Ron Harpelle, Department of History
2007 Recipient
Dr. Todd Dufresne, Department of Philosophy
2007 High Output Publication Excellence (HOPE) Award
Peter Holt Hindle, Graduate Student, Chemistry

Contribution to Research Award 2006/2007
2006 Recipients
Dr. Han Chen, Faculty of Forestry and the Forest Environment
Dr. Mary Lou Kelly, School of Social Work
Dr. Sharon Dale Stone, Department of Sociology
2007 Recipients
Dr. Lori Chambers, Department of Women's Studies
Dr. Alexander Serenko, Faculty of Business Administration

Media: For additional information, or to arrange interviews withDrs. Gilbert or Wang, or any of the recipients mentioned above, please contact Heather Scott, Communications Officer, Lakehead University, 807-343-8177,commun@lakeheadu.ca; or Eleanor Abaya, Director of Communications, Lakehead University, 807-343-8372, eabaya@lakeheadu.ca.