History Alumni and Faculty Receive Publication Awards

The Department of History is pleased to announce that Michel S. Beaulieu, David K. Ratz, Thorold J. Tronrud, and Jenna L. Kirker have been awarded the M. Elizabeth Arthur Award for best book on the history of Northwestern Ontario by the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society for their book Thunder Bay and the First World War, 1914-1919.

Thunder Bay and the First World War, 1914-1919 is a narrative history shaped, in large part, by what remains of the voices of those from the period -- the letters and correspondence produced by soldiers, nurses, governments, organizations, and families. Their stories are augmented, particularly on the home front, by the remaining archival records. It is the story of a community at war.

Richard Mastrangelo's article "Echo and Features: Atikokan, Steep Rock Iron Mine, and Corporate Culture" received the Ernest R. Zimmermann First Publication Award.

Based on his work as an MA student and published in the 2018 issue of the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society's Papers & Records, Mastrangelo examines how newsletters like The Steep Rock Echo and Steep Rock Features can be used to illustrate relationships between manager and miner. He argues that, together, the papers frame questions which go beyond records of mineral production and consumption.

Adjudicated by an independent panel of jurors, the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society's publication awards are given out every two years for the best publications dealing with the history of Northwestern Ontario. This year's winners were recognized at the Society's annual President's Reception held on Sunday, January 5th.