Barb Parker and Ryan McVeigh have been recognized by the Senate Teaching and Learning Committee.

Barb Parker and Ryan McVeigh have been recognized by the Senate Teaching and Learning Committee for their tireless work and undying devotion to teaching at Lakehead!

** Ryan has received the Contribution to Teaching Award (2019-2020)
** Barb has received the Teaching Innovation Award (2020)
Please join us in extending a hearty congrats to our friends and colleagues.

Congratulations Dr. Puddephatt

Qualitative Sociology Review: Volume XVI, Issue 2 (April 2020)

by Antony Puddephatt and Steven Kleinknecht (Volume Editors)

A Festschrift for William Shaffir

This special issue celebrates the career contributions of Dr. William Shaffir, a central symbolic interactionist ethnographer at McMaster University in Hamilton Ontario, Canada, for over 40 years (now emeritus). Here, his students from all across this timespan pen essays in appreciation of Dr. Shaffir, considering his importance to the development of symbolic interactionism in Canada, his personal approach to field methods and participant observation, his warm teaching and mentoring style, and his approach to, and legacy of, building rich concepts closely fitted to the empirical social world.


For additional information: Qualitative Sociology Review


Congratulation Dr. Antony (Tony) Puddephatt

Lakehead University held its Research and Innovation Awards of Excellence reception on Thursday, March 5 to celebrate the exceptional achievements of professors and students.

Lakehead named Dr. Antony Puddephatt the 2020 Distinguished Researcher for his work in social science.

The Distinguished Researcher Award is the highest honour conferred by Lakehead for research and scholarly activity. 

Dr. Puddephatt, a Sociology professor who is the department’s chair, also started at Lakehead 12 years ago.

His research contributions are wide ranging, and his work contributes both to ongoing theoretical debates in the discipline as well as to innovative research strategies.

Most centrally, he has studied the work of George Herbert Mead, a central Sociological theorist, and has applied his pragmatist philosophy to deal with a range of problems in contemporary theory.

Such topics include the nature of knowledge, science and technology studies, language, meaning and social action, the nature of power and domination, and environmental sociology.

He has done qualitative research on topics that have ranged from the social organization of amateur chess, to open-access publishing, to the culture of higher education. He has also weighed in on disciplinary debates about the future of Sociology in Canada.

He is currently working with Dr. Chris Sanders on a SSHRC-funded project about post-diagnostic identity issues among adults with high functioning autism.

Dr. Puddephatt has generously shared his research insights and advice with junior faculty to help further their projects.

He has also been able to publish with a number of Lakehead’s graduate students in the past few years, including Lisa Alaimo, Rebecca Collins-Nelsen, Taylor Price, and Bailey Tuffin. This has given students the opportunity for professional development, while affording Dr. Puddephatt a chance to learn about new research areas and topics.

“I am really delighted and humbled to win this prestigious award,” he said.

“The faculty, staff, and students at Lakehead have provided so many great opportunities over the years to foster my research, and I couldn't have done this without them.

“Lakehead continues to be a small university that punches over its weight in terms of internationally recognized research, and I am a small part of a really great group of bright scholars here.” 

Dr. Andrew P. Dean, Lakehead’s Vice-President, Research and Innovation, said the University’s researchers make him proud.

“Congratulations to both of our Distinguished Researchers and to all Lakehead University researchers,” Dr. Dean said. “Whether they are students or professors, everyone in attendance should be proud of their work and this pride should fuel them to excellence and even greater achievements.” 

Congratulations Dr. Thomas (Chris) Sanders

Dr. Thomas (Chris) Sanders received the "Contribution to Research Award" from the Senate Research Committee.

The Laura Bassi Scholarship

The Laura Bassi Scholarship
The Laura Bassi Scholarship was established by Editing Press in 2018 with the aim of providing editorial assistance to postgraduates and junior academics whose research focuses on neglected topics of study, broadly construed, within their disciplines. The scholarships are open to every discipline and are awarded thrice per annum: December, April, and August. All currently enrolled master’s and doctoral candidates are eligible to apply, as are academics in the first five years of their employment. There are no institutional, departmental, or national restrictions.


Spring 2020

Deadline: 25 March 2020

Results: 15 April 2020


How to Apply

Applicants are required to submit a completed application form along with their CV using the application portal on the Editing Press website by the relevant deadline. For more information about the Scholarship, including the application form, previous awardees, and a brief description of the remarkable figure of Laura Bassi, see: