The Sustainability Stewardship Council (SSC) provides a forum for students, faculty, administration, and community members to create Lakehead University’s unique sustainability profile by examining key sustainability issues and developing and implementing a sustainability action plan impacting all sectors of the University at its Thunder Bay and Orillia campuses. 

Key functions of Working Groups

Academics: coordinate curriculum; teaching, learning, and research; sustainability activities; prioritize initiatives
Engagement: campus engagement; community engagement; social communication systems 
Operations: space usage; resource consumption; environmental sustainability and safety; air and climate; buildings; dining services; energy; grounds; purchasing; transportation; waste; water 
Planning & Administration: coordination, planning, and government; diversity and affordability; health, well being, and work; investment. 

Sustainability Stewardship Council Membership

Faculty members are nominated through their respective faculties through an inclusive and transparent process initiated by faculty deans. All faculty members should be aware of the council and participation opportunities. Nominees are approved by the Dean. Faculty terms are for two years and are renewable.

Student members are selected by an ad-hoc committee through a well-advertised application process. Student terms are for one year and are renewable.

Staff members are appointed by their Director/head of the unit according to their organizational roles and expertise. Staff terms are for two years and are renewable.

Community members are nominated by the SSC and appointed by the Executive Advisory Council. Community member terms are for two years and are renewable.

Terms of Reference

Current Members