Ontario Master Naturalist Certificate Program - Winter Session

Event Date: 
Thursday, January 13, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, January 20, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, January 27, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, February 3, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, February 10, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, February 17, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, February 24, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, March 3, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Thursday, March 10, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EST
Event Location: 
Via Zoom
Event Fee: 
$549
Event Contact Name: 
Office of Community Engagement and Lifelong Learning
Event Contact E-mail: 

The Winter 2022 certificate program includes eight learning modules taught in a hybrid model, including interactive powerpoints, videos created for the program, FlipGrid community resources, a virtual trailhead meeting space, and weekly Zoom webinars with our coordinator, Bob Bowles.

The program is largely asynchronous. It includes live weekly webinars which are recorded and thus can be viewed at a later date.

Ontario Master Naturalist Certificate Program - Fall Session

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 9, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, September 23, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, September 30, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, October 7, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, October 21, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, October 28, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, November 4, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Event Location: 
Via Zoom
Event Fee: 
$499
Event Contact Name: 
Office of Community Engagement and Lifelong Learning
Event Contact E-mail: 

The Fall 2021 certificate program includes eight learning modules taught in a hybrid model, including interactive powerpoints, videos created for the program, FlipGrid community resources, a virtual trailhead meeting space, and weekly Zoom webinars with our coordinator, Bob Bowles. 

The program is largely asynchronous. It includes live weekly webinars which are recorded and thus can be viewed at a later date.

Thank you for your interest. This session is now full. To be placed on a waitlist, please email cell@lakeheadu.ca

Ontario Master Naturalist Certificate Program - Summer Session

Event Date: 
Thursday, May 27, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, June 3, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, June 10, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, July 8, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, July 15, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, July 22, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, July 29, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Event Location: 
Via Zoom
Event Fee: 
$499
Event Contact Name: 
Office of Community Engagement and Lifelong Learning
Event Contact E-mail: 

The summer session of the Ontario Master Naturalist Certificate Program will be delivered via a blended learning environment that will enable you to learn about the breadth of topics explored in this certificate. Through a series of eight modules, participants will work through material at their own pace, including interactive PowerPoint slides, photographs and video produced specifically for this program.

Please note that modules may modified based on instructor availability.

Module Topics 

  • MODULE 1: Geology and Anthropology
  • MODULE 2: Mammals and Species at Risk
  • MODULE 3: Botany and Spring Ephemeral Wildflowers
  • MODULE 4: Ontario Bird Species
  • MODULE 5: Amphibians and Reptiles
  • MODULE 6: Invasive Species
  • MODULE 7: Wetlands, Water and Fishes
  • MODULE 8: Insects and Other Invertebrates 

What's included:

  • Access to all classroom materials, including PowerPoints, video, and additional resources, as well as eight interactive webinars, a virtual Trailhead Zoom room, and FlipGrid community resources.

Cancellation Policy: In the case of cancellation, we will offer a refund up to three weeks prior to the start of the program. A $50 administrative fee will be incurred for administration. 

Thank you for your interest. This session is now full. To put your name on the waitlist please email us at cell@lakeheadu.ca

Ontario Master Naturalist Certificate Program - Spring Session

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 25, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, April 1, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, April 8, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, April 15, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, April 29, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, May 6, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Thursday, May 13, 2021 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm EDT
Event Location: 
Via Zoom
Event Fee: 
$499.00
Event Contact Name: 
Office of Community Engagement and Lifelong Learning
Event Contact E-mail: 

The spring session of the Ontario Master Naturalist Certificate Program will be delivered via a blended learning environment that will enable you to learn about the breadth of topics explored in this certificate. Through a series of eight modules, participants will work through material at their own pace, including interactive PowerPoint slides, photographs and video produced specifically for this program.

Please note that modules may modified based on instructor availability.

Module Topics 

  • MODULE 1: Geology and Anthropology
  • MODULE 2: Mammals and Species at Risk
  • MODULE 3: Botany and Spring Ephemeral Wildflowers
  • MODULE 4: Ontario Bird Species
  • MODULE 5: Amphibians and Reptiles
  • MODULE 6: Invasive Species
  • MODULE 7: Wetlands, Water and Fishes
  • MODULE 8: Insects and Other Invertebrates 

What's included:

  • Access to all classroom materials, including PowerPoints, video, and additional resources, as well as eight interactive webinars, a virtual Trailhead Zoom room, and FlipGrid community resources.

Cancellation Policy: In the case of cancellation, we will offer a refund up to three weeks prior to the start of the program. A $50 administrative fee will be incurred for administration. 

Thank you for your interest. This session is now full. Consider joining us for our Summer Session.