Class Notes


Change in Leadership at the North West LHIN

Friday, April 20, 2018 / Campus

The North West Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) announced on April 19th, the appointment of the new CEO for the North West LHIN, Dr. Rhonda Crocker Ellacott (HBScN '91)

Read More


Alumna Receives Government of Canada History Award

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 / Campus

The Departments of Interdisciplinary Studies and History and the Faculty of Education are pleased to announce that alumna Kylie Burchat (HBASc/BEd '17) has been recognized as one of 20 Government of Canada History Award winners for 2017.

Read More


AGAT Laboratories appoints new President and Chief Operating Officer

Monday, January 8, 2018 / Campus

Marissa Reckmann has been appointed to the position of President and Chief Operating Officer at AGAT Laboratories.

Read More


Billboard Power 100: Live Nation Entertainment's Michael Rapino

Monday, January 1, 2018 / Campus

MICHAEL RAPINO, 52 CEO, Live Nation Entertainment (Last Year's Rank: 3)

Read More


Wilson Institute announces their Associates for 2017-2020

Friday, December 1, 2017 / Campus

On Thursday, November 30th, the Wilson Institute unveiled their list of the 37 scholars named as Wilson Associates for 2017-2020.

Read More


Karl Subban shares his plan for success in a new book

Thursday, October 12, 2017 / Campus

How We Did It: The Subban Plan for Success in Hockey, School and Life is a memoir of how Karl Subban (BA '83, BEd '84) and his wife Maria prepared their five children to live up to their potential.

Read More


Lakehead teacher Lisa Dampier wins ETFO Anti-Bias Award

Wednesday, August 16, 2017 / Campus

The Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO) has presented Lakehead teacher Lisa Dampier (BA '92, B.Ed. '93) with its 2017 Anti-Bias Award for her work in teaching global citizenship and social justice to grades 7 and 8 students.

Read More


Former lecturer and alum recognized by peak teacher education body

Friday, July 7, 2017 / Campus

Former ORPT lecturer and Lakehead alum, Dr. Janet Dyment (PhD '05) is Australia's Teacher Educator of the Year, as awarded by the Australian Teacher Education Association (ATEA) at a conference in Brisbane in July.

Read More


Alumni honoured with the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Thursday, May 11, 2017 / Campus

Two exceptional Lakehead University alumni received the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence at the Canadian Museum of Nature in Ottawa on May 3.

Read More


ORPT alumnus Jackie Chan receives 3M National Student Fellowship

Tuesday, April 25, 2017 / Campus

Jacky WL Chan (HB OEd'16) is an outdoor educator and the co-founder and director of Zen’s Outdoor Leadership Camp for Youth (ZOLCY) – a volunteer driven Canadian NGO.

Read More