Class Notes


Dr. Joelle Thorgrimson honoured for contributions to aviation and aerospace

Thursday, May 16, 2019 /

The Northern Lights Aero Foundation today announced the 2019 winners of its annual “Elsie” award, honouring Canadian women who have made outstanding contributions to aviation and aerospace.

Read More


Canadian Geographic names Geography teacher of the month: Peter Cameron

Monday, September 10, 2018 /

Peter Cameron (BA/B.Ed 1994) is self-described “M.A.D.” man. In other words, he wants to “make a difference” and teach his students to do the same.

Read More


Lakehead University student’s art featured on new coin

Monday, September 10, 2018 / Campus

A fourth-year visual arts student at Lakehead University says it feels incredible to have designed one side of a new coin for the Royal Canadian Mint. The Royal Canadian Mint asked Mary McPherson to participate in the design process for the new coin.

Read More


New Vice-Provost Students & Registrar at Lakehead University

Friday, July 6, 2018 /

Andrea Tarsitano (HBComm '01) has permanently taken on the role of Vice-Provost Students & Registrar at Lakehead University.

Read More


Ledcor Names Don Quan as President, Resources and Transportation

Thursday, July 5, 2018 /

The Ledcor Group of Companies, a leading Canadian diversified construction and industrial operations company, today announced the appointment of Don Quan as President, Ledcor Resources and Transportation.

Read More


Appointment of Sue Craig as Vice-President of Community & Environment

Wednesday, July 4, 2018 / Campus

Kutcho Copper Corporation is pleased to announce the appointment of Sue Craig (MSc. 1991) as Vice President of Community & Environment.

Read More


Fleming College Appoints Maureen Adamson as President

Friday, June 22, 2018 / Campus

The Fleming College Board of Governors is pleased to announce that Maureen Adamson has been selected as the college’s sixth president.

Read More


Tracey Nieckarz appointed Superior Court judge

Monday, May 28, 2018 / Campus

Tracey Nieckarz (BA'89/HBA'90), a partner at the law firm Buset LLP, has been named a judge of the Superior Court of Justice in Thunder Bay. Her appointment was announced by Justice Minister Jody Wilson-Raybould.

Read More


Thunder Bay artist wins 2018 K.M. Hunter Artist Award

Monday, April 23, 2018 / Campus

Thunder Bay artist Cree Stevens (BABEd '97, BFA '15) has won the 2018 K.M. Hunter Artist Award for Visual Arts.

Read More