Wilson Institute announces their Associates for 2017-2020

Friday, December 1, 2017 / Campus

Michel Beaulieu headshot

On Thursday, November 30th, the Wilson Institute unveiled their list of the 37 scholars named as Wilson Associates for 2017-2020. Located in every province of Canada, the Wilson Associates have been selected as scholars who are pushing the field of Canadian history in exciting new transnational directions. Each of these dynamic scholars is asking new questions and bringing new perspectives to the writing of Canadian history. Each will be entitled to contribute to the selection of the most boundary-breaking publication in Canadian history and to benefit from the support and services of the Institute.  The Wilson Institute hopes, through building a network of fellows and associates, to create a community of scholars inside and outside Canada exploring transnational history. We hope not only to put these scholars in contact with our Institute, so that we might expand our role in Canadian intellectual life, but also to put them in touch with one another, in a country all too often fragmented in ways that far-ranging transnational approaches stand to remedy. The study of Canadian history is undergoing a renaissance—and these scholars are indispensable to making it happen. Welcome to the Institute!

Press release about Dr. Michel Beaulieu, one of the newest Wilson Associates:    

Michel S. Beaulieu is the Chair of the Department of History at Lakehead University and holds the rank of Associate Professor. His research is wide-ranging, but generally deals with historical political, economic, and social issues relating to Northern Ontario.

Michel is the incoming President of the Champlain Society, a Vice President of the Ontario Historical Society, Vice-President of the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society, President of the Thunder Bay Branch of the Canadian International Council, and a member of the Board of Directors of the Multicultural History Society of Ontario.

His work within the community and as a historian has been recognized by numerous awards. These include a NOVA 20 under 40 Award, the City of Thunder Bay’s Heritage Award, the Lakehead University Alumni Association’s Young Alumni Award, and the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society’s M. Elizabeth Arthur, Gertrude H. Dyke, and J.P. Bertrand awards.

A much more extensive biography of can be found at http://msbeaulieu.lakeheadu.ca