

Ogimaawin-Aboriginal Governance Council (O-AGC)
Agenda – Monday, September 23, 2013
1:30 – 3:30 p.m.
Senate Chambers – Rm. UC 1001

Teleconference: 1-888-892-7292 Access code: 0153290#

1. Opening Prayer and Welcome

2. Opening Prayer

Welcome & Introductions – Ms. Nancy Bouchard, Chair

3. Aboriginal Initiatives Presentation

Vision of Aboriginal Initiatives Office (Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux)

4. Approval of Agenda

MOVED that the agenda for the September 23, 2013 meeting be approved.

- 5. Conflict of Interest
- 6. **Approval of Minutes** attached

MOVED that the Minutes of the O-AGC meeting of April 15, 2013 be approved.

- 7. **Business Arising from the Minutes** (not on the Agenda elsewhere)
 - 7.1 O-AGC voted on the Targeted Initiatives Fund Proposal

For information only: The O-AGC voted on the TIF Proposal using an electronic poll. The document was distributed on May 22, 2013 to all voting members. (In favour of Approval =8; Opposed =0) The Chair of O-AGC signed the TIF Proposal indicating support of the O-AGC.

7.2 Faculty of Education Research Proposal re Ms. Alexa Scully

Ad hoc committee to seek additional information (Ms. Bernice Dubec)

MOVED that having reported back to the O-AGC, the ad hoc committee be

dissolved.

8. New Business

8.1	Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair	
	8.1.1	MOVED that be elected as the Chair of the Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council for the term commencing October 5, 2013 through September 30, 2014.
	8.1.2	MOVED that be elected as the Vice-Chair of the Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council for the term commencing October 5, 2013 through September 30, 2014 .
8.2	Appointment to O-AGC – attached	
	8.2.1	MOVED that Chief Georjann Morriseau be appointed to the O-AGC as the Union of Ontario Indians' representative.
	8.2.2	MOVED that Ms. Bobby Jo Chenier be appointed to the O-AGC as the alternate from Union of Ontario Indians.
	8.2.3	MOVED that Mr. John DeGiacomo be appointed as the alternate representative from AETS on the O-AGC.
8.3	O-AGC Appointment to the Board of Governors	
	MOVED that be recommended as the O-AGC appointment to the Lakehead University Board of Governors for the term commencing October 5, 2013 through September 2015.	
8.4	Ministry of Training, Colleges, and Universities (MTCU) Update (Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux)	
	PEFAL (Postsecondary Education Fund for Aboriginal Learners) Update	
	8.4.1 8.4.2 8.4.3	Student Success Fund TIF Targeted Initiatives Fund Aboriginal Scholarships & Bursaries(Student Awards & Financial Aid) (Mr. Mike Kelly)

9. Other Business

9.1 Updates from Organizations – Priorities and Issues

- 9.2 O-AGC Advisors Report & Recommendations to be distributed at the meeting.(Dr. Michelle-Marie Spadoni, Co-Chair of the O-AGC Advisors Committee)
- 9.3 Update on Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Mining and Exploration (Mr. Paul Capon)
- 9.4 Lloyd Barber Summit on Aboriginal Post-Secondary Education "Identifying Best Practices" – May 23 & 24, 2013 – University of Regina (Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux)
- 9.5 Canada-Mexico Round Table on Aboriginal/Indigenous Higher Education (Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux, Elder Gerry Martin)

10. Updates/Reports

- 10.1 Aboriginal Education (Dr. Wayne Melville) attached
- 10.2 Office of Aboriginal Initiatives (Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux) attached
- 10.3 Board of Governors' (Ms. Nancy Bouchard) attached
- 10.4 Native Nurses Entry Program (Ms. Sandra Cornell) attached
- 10.5 Orillia Campus (Dr. Herman van den Berg) attached
- 10.6 Senate (Dr. Michelle-Marie Spadoni)
- 10.7 President's Report (Dr. Brian Stevenson) attached

11. Information Items

- 11.1 The O-AGC Advisors Committee Meeting Minutes of March 26, 2013 are available on the O-AGC website at http://tinyurl.com/q5agg8t.
- 11.2 Letter sent to Rosie Mosquito re the Faculty Recruitment and Retention Report April 2013 attached
- 11.3 Research Ethics Board Appointments
 - Dr. Lisa Korteweg has been appointed to the Research Ethics Board as "the full-time faculty member whose research involves Aboriginal people."
 - Dr. Karen Drake has been appointed as "the member knowledgeable in the relevant law."
 - Ms. Bev Sabourin has been appointed as "a community member who has
 no affiliation with Lakehead University but is a member of the community
 served by Lakehead University."

- The Smudging Protocol Policy has been approved by the Provost & Vice-President (Academic) and the Vice-President (Administration & Finance). The Policy has been posted on the Human Resources website at: https://www.lakeheadu.ca/faculty-and-staff/policies/human-resources/smudging-protocol-policy.
- 11.5 List of O-AGC appointments to committees, boards, etc. attached
- 11.6 O-AGC Membership List attached

12. Next O-AGC Meeting

12.1 Monday, November 18, 20131:30 to 3:30 p.m.Senate Chambers – Rm. UC 1001

Adjournment

MOVED that the meeting be adjourned.