REPORT TO THE OGIMAAWIN ABORIGINAL GOVERNANCE COUNCIL, LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY FROM LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY SENATE

Submitted Monday, February 20, 2012, for Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council meeting scheduled Monday, February 27, 2012.

Reporting on Senate meeting held Friday, February 17, 2012 Next Senate meeting scheduled for Friday, March 16, 2012

Senate Meeting on February 17

- Research activities on campus, and Research and Innovation Week, February 10 –
 16, 2012, occupied the focus of much discussion at the February 17th Senate
 meeting. Several recent announcements have been made regarding large grants for
 research funded at Lakehead University, largely in the areas of medicine and
 science.
- Dr. Chris Southcott was named Lakehead University's 2011 Distinguished Researcher.
- Aboriginal Partnership Research Award for 2012 Recipients included:
 - Dr. Peggy Smith , Faculty of Natural Resources Management Denise Golden, PhD student, Faculty of Natural Resources Management Carol Audet, Policy Advisor for the Office of the Grand Chief (NAN) David Fletcher, Executive Director for the Office of the Grand Chief (NAN)
- Aboriginal Professors Chris Mushquash and Sandra Wolf presented research and research perspectives during Aboriginal Research Day on February 22, 2012.
- Annette Schroeter has earned our gratitude for her work in organizing Aboriginal Research Day, the Aboriginal Partnership Award, and other Aboriginal Research functions on campus during the past week.

Submitted February 20, 2012 Sandra Wolf, Ph. D Faculty of Education, Lakehead University