

Aboriginal Management Council Agenda- September 22, 2008 2:00p.m. – 4:00p.m. ATAC 3004

#### 1. Welcome

#### 2. Introductions

2.1 LUNSA Representatives – Election – B. Johnson

## 3. Approval of Agenda

MOVED that the agenda for the September 22, 2008 meeting be approved as distributed.

#### 4. Conflict of Interest

#### 5. Approval of Minutes - attached

MOVED that the Minutes of the AMC meeting of April 28, 2008 be approved.

## 6. Business Arising from Previous Meeting

- 6.1 MOVED that Ethel Sault, be appointed as the representative for the Thunder Bay Friendship Centre on the Aboriginal Management Council.
- 6.2 AMC Representative on Senate Undergraduate Scholarship and Bursaries Committee

MOVED that Dr. Ruby Farrell be appointed to the Senate Undergraduate Scholarship and Bursaries Committee as the AMC representative.

- 6.3 Summary of Retreat 2008 attached Determining Priorities
  - 6.3.1 MOVED that AMC requests that the Aboriginal Initiatives Office work with LUNSA, AMC, and Lakehead University Recruitment Office toward a goal of enrolling 15 new Aboriginal students at Lakehead University in Orillia in 2009.
  - 6.3.2 MOVED that the Chair of AMC send a letter to the Lakehead

University President asking for an appointment of a full-time Aboriginal Recruitment Officer in Orillia.

- 6.3.3 MOVED that Admissions and Recruitment be sent a letter from AMC indicating that AMC would like to see Lakehead University represented in northern communities during university fairs and that students are recruited for Additional Qualifications (AQ) courses.
- 6.3.4 MOVED that AMC request that the AMC Advisory Committee prepare a summary of the articulation agreements that exist between Lakehead University, the Aboriginal communities and organizations and that this summary include where private institutions and/or Lakehead University may be suited to provide pre-university and pre-requisite courses on-line so that participants can remain in their communities.
- 6.3.5 MOVED that Dr. Peggy Smith, Dr. L. Hayes, and \_\_\_\_\_\_ promote the inclusion of the "Duty to Consult" in coursework particularly Forestry, Geology, Business Administration, and Political Science, and that this ad-hoc committee report their progress to AMC at the November 2008 AMC meeting.
- 6.3.6 MOVED that the AMC notice of meetings include all voting members and that Official Advisors be invited to meetings on an "as need be" basis.
- 6.3.7 MOVED that Tim Pile, AMC Chair, work to develop partnerships with the Mining and Forestry industries to improve communications about the impacts on the environment and on Aboriginal communities and to solicit funding for scholarships/events at Lakehead University.
- 6.3.8 MOVED that Brendon Johnson and Paul Capon meet with Dean Dadgostar, Faculty of Business Administration, to discuss how Lakehead University could meet the needs for Business Administration training in Aboriginal communities.
- 6.3.9 MOVED that Dobi-Dawn Frenette meet with Lakehead University Advancement to establish a new Animki bursary.
- 6.3.10 MOVED that \_\_\_\_\_\_ work with the Aboriginal Management Research Ethics Committee to finalize the Research Ethics Policy for Lakehead University.

6.4 The current approved Advisors' Committee Terms of Reference #2 (vi) states that "These Terms of Reference and the functioning of the Advisors' Committee will be subject to annual review by the AMC, including selfassessment by the Advisors' Committee, to ensure that it is operating effectively and fulfilling its functions."

MOVED that the Advisors' Committee be asked to review their Terms of Reference and to prepare recommendations for revisions; and that the Advisors' Committee report back to AMC on its effectiveness and ability to fulfill its functions.

## 7. New Business

- 7.1 Revisions to By-laws
  - 7.1.1 MOVED that the following be appointed to an ad-hoc committee of AMC to review the current by-laws and prepare a draft of any necessary changes to the by-laws:
- 7.2 Joint SAC/AMC Committee one year renewable terms to be appointed for 2008/09 – Terms of Reference attached. The current Senate Academic members are Dr. G. Hayman, Ms. B. Sabourin, and Dr. D. Tranter. The current AMC members are Mrs. C. Hartviksen, Mr. T. Pile, and Ms. D. Frenette.

Moved that the following AMC Members be appointed to the Joint SAC/AMC Committee for the term 2008/09 \_\_\_\_\_

- 7.3 Law School KR Sept.22, 2008
- 7.4 AMC Annual Report 2007- 2008 KR Sept.22, 2008

## 8. Updates/Reports

- 8.1 Research Ethics Committee update P. Smith
- 8.2 Secretary of AMC Report

## 9. Other Business

- 9.1 Election of Chair & Vice-Chair of AMC 2008-2009 BYLAW#1 (1.6)
  - 9.1.1 Moved that \_\_\_\_\_ be appointed as the Aboriginal Management Council Chair for 2008-2009.

9.1.2 Moved that \_\_\_\_\_ be appointed as the Aboriginal Management Council Vice-Chair for 2008 – 2009

# 10. Information Items

10.1 2008-2009 AMC Members List

# 11. Adjournment