

Ogimaawin Indigenous Education Council (OIEC)

AGENDA

Date:	December 5, 2022	
Time:	1:00pm - 2:00pm External Caucus (External Members Only) 2:00pm - 4:00pm OIEC Meeting (All Members)	
Join Remotely via Zoom*:	Zoom Meeting Link: https://lakeheadu.zoom.us/j/96901577665 Meeting ID: 969 0157 7665	
*Same Zoom link for both sessions	 For technical support phone 1-866-652-8657 or email multimed@lakeheadu.ca To test ahead of time visit https://zoom.us/test Please remember to mute yourself when possible 	

OIEC Members: Brandon Amyot - Board of Governor Member (Lakehead University); Precious Anderson - Member-At-Large; Robert Atastise - Member At Large; Dr. David Barnett - Provost and Vice-President, Academic (Lakehead University); Denise Baxter (Acting Chair) - Vice-Provost, Indigenous Initiatives (Lakehead University); Kathy Beardy - Nishnawbe Aski Nation; Matthew Bombardier - Indigenous Student Member (Lakehead University); Alecia Boshcoff - Fort William First Nation; Charles Brown - Member At Large; Alicia Cameron - Member-At-Large; Paul Capon - Matawa First Nations; Ben Cousineau - Chippewas of Rama First Nation; Lorrie Deschamps - Oshki-Pimache-O-Win Education & Training Institute; Christopher Glover - Designate, Orillia Principal (Lakehead University); Dr. Moira McPherson - President and Vice-Chancellor (Lakehead University, Non Voting); Amy Nadjiwon-Tobey (Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation Board of Education); Grand Council Chief Reg Niganobe (Anishinabek Nation); Elder Gene Nowegejick (Non Voting); Dr. Lana Ray - Indigenous Faculty Member (Lakehead University); Dr. Linda Rodenburg - Interim Orillia Principal (Lakehead University); Yvonne Roussel - Interim University Secretary (OIEC Secretary); Dr. Bryanna Scott-Kay (Metis Nation of Ontario); Valerie Stortini (Chair) - Thunder Bay Indigenous Friendship Centre; Howard Twance - Seven Generations Education Institute; Dr. Anita Vaillancourt (OIEC Advisors Committee Chair)

Administrative Resources: Marcie Morrison (Recorder) - Acting Associate University Secretary

Invited Guests: Anna Chief - Coordinator, Indigenous Outreach/Recruitment; Lynn Hurrell - Director, Recruitment (Undergraduate)

Opening Prayer (Elder Gene Nowegejick)

Opening Frayer (Elder Gene Nowegejick)			
ltem		Presenter	
1.	Approval of Agenda	Denise Baxter (Acting Chair)	
2.	Declaration of Conflict of Interest Members are reminded of their duty to declare a conflict of interest should awareness of conflict arise at any time during the meeting.	Denise Baxter (Acting Chair)	
3.	 October 17, 2022 Minutes for Approval 	Denise Baxter (Acting Chair)	
4.	Chair's Report		
5.	OIEC Ad Hoc Nominating Committee Update	Yvonne Roussel	
6.	 OIEC Advisors Committee Update Approved Minutes of the May 17, 2022 Advisors Committee Meeting - for information 	Denise Baxter	
7.	Student Recruitment Update		
8.	Verbal Updates/Reports from External Members During your verbal updates please include ways that Lakehead University can engage with students in your community in preparation for university applications. • Matawa First Nations (Paul Capon) • Nishnawbe Aski Nation (Kathy Beardy) • Seven Generations Education Institute (Howard Twance) • Thunder Bay Indigenous Friendship Centre (Valerie Stortini) • Oshki-Pimache-O-Win Education & Training Institute (Lorrie Dechamps) • Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation Board of Education (Amy		
	 Nadjiwon-Tobey) Anishinabek Nation (Grand Council Chief Reg Niganobe) Metis Nation of Ontario (Dr. Bryanna Scott-Kay) Member-At-Large (Precious Anderson) 		

Page 3 of 3

	 Member-At-Large (Robert Atastise) Member-At-Large (Charles Brown) Member-At-Large (Alicia Cameron) 			
9.	President's Report	Dr. Moira McPherson		
10.	Informational Items			
	a. September 29, 2022 Board of Governors Report			
	b. October 24, 2022 Senate Report			
	c. Chair on Truth and Reconciliation Report			
	d. Office of Indigenous Initiatives Report			
	e. 2022-23 OIEC Meeting Schedule			
	 Next Meeting: January 30, 2022 			
	f. <u>Presidential Search Update</u>			
11.	Other Business	Denise Baxter (Acting Chair)		
Closing Prayer (Elder Gene Nowegejick) / Adjournment				