

MEMORANDUM

To: Barbara H. Eccles, Secretary of Senate

From: Dr. Hubert de Guise - Chair, Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries

Committee

Senate Meeting Date: May 11, 2016

Subject: Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries Committee Annual Report

The Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries Committee met on two occasions during the 2015-16 academic year.

At the Nov. 25th meeting, various subcommittees were struck to examine candidates for the Poulin Award, the Presidential Scholarships, and the Citizenship Scholarships.

A subcommittee, with Dr. Ron David (chair), Dr. Kefu Liu, Dr. Juan Pernia complemented with Mr. Josh Levac and excellently supported by Mrs. Cheryl Ellis, met Feb. 9th to allocate 16 NSERC Undergraduate Summer Research Awards.

A subcommittee comprised of Dr. Hubert de Guise (chair), Dr. Ron Davis, Mr. Josh Levac, Mr. Shannon Foster, Mr. Tom Warden, Mr Roman Jakubowski (Ms. Trish Sokoloski and Ms. Yolanda Twance sent recommendations) and supported by Mrs. Cheryl Ellis met on April 14th to select a recipient for the Robert Poulin Award for outstanding citizenship. This year, the award went to Ms. Katharine Beaulieu, a graduate student from the Department of English. Ms. Beaulieu recognized by the Board of Governors on April 21st. The Lloyd Dennis Award was awarded to Ms. Whitney Page by a subcommittee consisting of Mrs. Jackie Bean, Dr. Michael Stevenson, Mrs. Danielle Poeta, Dr. Frances Helyar, Ms. Sami Pritchard, and Mr. Chris Glover. Ms. Page will be recognized by the Board of Governors on June 3.

On April 29th the SUSBC chair received a memo from the Interim Dean of Law recommending that the committee create a Dean's Medal to be awarded to the highest ranking graduating student from this Faculty.

The memo was distributed to voting members of the committee as the following motion: MOVED to recommend that Senate approves the establishment of a Dean's Medal for the Faculty of Law to be awarded to the highest ranking graduating student in the Faculty of Law.

The vote was unanimous in favour of the motion.

A subcommittee, with members Dr. Hubert de Guise, Dr. Ron Davies, and Mr. Josh Levac, supported by Mrs. Cheryl Ellis, met on April 26th to shortlist candidates for the Presidential Scholarships. The subcommittee met again on May 4th for interviews, and selected Ms. Melanie Larson and Ms. Katy Poirier as scholars. Both have accepted their offer of admission to Lakehead.

In a meeting held on May 9th, the committee along with faculty Chairs/Deans approved the following recommendations for the Major Medals:

Governor General's Silver Award to Kayla Colledanchise (HBSC. BIOL) Chancellor's Medal to Lynn Baxter (BA.SOCI) Vice-Chancellor's Medal to Daniel Cox (BA. PSYC) Governor General's College Bronze Medal to Kevin Barber (ENGDIP.CIVI)

In addition, a subcommittee formed by Mr. Josh Levac, Mr. Nick Chamut, Mr. David Thompson and supported by Mr. Teak Favel-Lagowski selected the following 10 students to receive an offer for the Northwestern Ontario & Simcoe County Citizenship Scholarship:

- 1) Grace Mascotto
- 2) Kylie Perala
- 3) Carly Dustin
- 4) Julie Antler
- 5) Katie Plummer
- 6) Harley Wilson
- 7) Krystianna Isfeld
- 8) Laura Deschamps
- 9) Ben Marks
- 10) Maddison Wilson

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the committee,

Dr. Hubert de Guise Professor

Chair, Senate Undergraduate Bursaries and Scholarship Committee