

MEMORANDUM

To: Barbara H. Eccles, Secretary of Senate

From: Dr. Elaine Wiersma, Chair, Senate Research Committee

Senate Meeting Date: October 26, 2015

Subject: Report of the Senate Research Committee

The Senate Research Committee held its first meeting on September 30, 2015, and elected a new Chair, Dr. Elaine Wiersma (CIHR), and a new Vice-Chair, Dr. Connie Russell (SSHRC). In accordance with the Terms of Reference, the position of Chair rotates among the tri-councils: NSERC, CIHR, and SSHRC. For 2015-2016, a CIHR Chair is requested.

At the meeting, the SRC discussed the nominations for the Contributions to Research Award for 2015, and made its unanimous recommendation to the Vice-Present, Research and Innovation.

NOTE: The award recipient(s) will be announced during the Research and Innovation Week Awards Gala on Thursday, March 10, 2016.

The SRC reviewed the guidelines to the Conference Travel Fund, and will be making some changes after the first round of internal funding competitions, which closed on October 10, 2015. The SRC will be reviewing these applications in time for the meeting in November 2015.

The Ad-Hoc Committee will continue its work reviewing and assessing the research priorities outlined in the Strategic Plan.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Elaine Wiersma

Chair, Senate Research Committee