Report of the Senate Research Committee

The Senate Research Committee held its first meeting on September 24, 2014. In the Senate meeting of September 15, 2014 a motion was passed to have twelve faculty members (4 NSERC, 4 SSHRC, and 4 CIHR) in the composition of the SRC, instead of ten. In response to questions raised at the last Senate meeting, the SRC discussed its Terms of Reference.

MOVED that Article (1) of the organization of the SRC be changed as follows:

"Chair and Vice Chair: each to be elected by, and from, members of the Senate Research Committee, alternating service for both positions between SSHRC, NSERC, and CIHR members".

Five Northern Ontario Internship proposals were forwarded to the Senate Research Committee and reviewed. In addition, five RTI grants are currently being reviewed. The next deadline for the RDF awards, the Conference Travel awards, the Publication Assistance awards, and the Visiting Scholar awards is October 10, 2014. The SRC is looking to review the applications in time for the results of these competitions to be communicated in November.

The Ad Hoc Subcommittee of the SRC, which began its work last June, has met throughout the summer to look into alternative sources of funding for researchers at Lakehead University, review and revise as necessary the awards currently offered by the Senate Research Committee, and assess the research needs of researchers at Lakehead. The work of the Ad Hoc Committee is almost complete, and the subcommittee will be making its recommendations to the SRC in Fall 2014.

The SRC will be sending a reminder to Faculty Deans and Department Chairs/Directors about the upcoming deadline (November 30) for nominations for the Distinguished Researcher Awards. The SRC awards up to three awards per year, one in each of the tri-council categories, and welcomes nominations of all eligible faculty members. The SRC appreciates the efforts of the Deans and Chairs/Directors in encouraging faculty members to nominate their colleagues for this prestigious award.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Maria Grazia Viola Chair of the Senate Research Committee