

Senate Research Committee Annual Report 2014-2015

The Senate Research Committee had a very productive year, during which several new funds opportunities were established and administered. I have briefly summarized some of the work done by the committee in the following paragraphs.

A new policy regarding open access publications for any researcher supported by a Tri-Council grant was implemented by the Tri-Council last February. To help researchers with the high costs connected with open access publishing, a pilot Open Access Author Fund was created last fall to encourage and support Lakehead researchers who wish to make their scholarly work available via open access publishing. The Fund provided up to \$ 2500 per application and had a March 10 deadline. Two applications were received for the pilot fund, and one award was granted. The Senate Research Committee plans to review the Open Access Author Fund in the coming months, to determine if the pilot fund should be continued and if the guidelines should be revisited.

In February the Senate Research Committee had a special one-time call for proposals for a Strategic Research Development Fund, which provided funds to support short-term research activities over a maximum of two years. Twenty-eight applications were received for the strategic RDF, and ten applicants were awarded funds.

Moreover, in two rounds of internal competitions, respectively held October 2014 and March 2015, the NSERC/CIHR and SSHRC/CIHR subcommittees reviewed 59 applications for the Research Development Fund, the Conference Travel Fund, the Visiting Scholar Fund, and the Publication Assistance Fund. The next round of

applications for the Conference Travel Fund and the Publication Assistance Fund are due on May 10, 2015. The results of these competitions will be reported in the 2015/16 annual report.

As indicated in the terms of references of the Senate Research Committee, every year the committee reviews the nominations received for the Distinguished Researcher Awards and the Contribution to Research Awards. Four nominations were received for the Distinguished Research Awards, three in the NSERC area and one in the SSHRC/CIHR area. The Distinguished Researcher Award was awarded to Dr. Peter Hollings, Department of Geology, and Dr. Mary Lou Kelley, School of Social Work. The Contribution to Research Award was awarded to Dr. Daniel Hannah of the Department of English. The Distinguished Researcher Award and the Contribution to Research Award were conferred during the Research and Innovation Week Awards Reception held on March 12, 2015. Nominations in all categories for the next round of Contribution to Research Awards are due on May 15, 2015 by 4:30. The result of these submissions will be reported in the 2015/16 Annual Report.

Since 2014/15 the Senate Research Committee has moved most of its applications to the ROMEO database system, which allow the members of the subcommittees to review of applications online. The committee plans to eventually have all its applications available in ROMEO, and is working with the Office of Research Services to ensure that any concern or problems regarding the online forms are promptly addressed.

In 2014-2015 the Senate Research Committee reviewed applications for the NOHFC Internship, the Early Researcher Award, the Research Tools and Instruments, the SSHRC SIG application submission, and any such competition as requested by the Office of Research Services.

In recent years, concerns have been raised by the members of the Senate Research Committee regarding the quality of some of the applications received by the committee. To ensure that researchers at Lakehead University are successful in their Tri-Council applications, a recommendation has been put forward by the Senate Research

Committee to hire an NSERC/CIHR facilitator. The university already has a SSHRC/CIHR facilitator, who has helped increase the success rate of SSHRC/CIHR researchers in obtaining Tri-Council funding. The recommendation was supported by the Vice-President of Research, Innovation and Economic Development, and an NSERC/CIHR facilitator will soon be hired through the Office of Research Services.

One of the tasks of the Senate Research Committee is to make recommendations to the Senate regarding the creation or renewal of the Research Centres operating at Lakehead University. An internal review of the Centre of Education & Research on Positive Youth Development (CERPYD) was conducted in 2014. The review panel determined that the service component of the CERPYD is extremely valuable, but the Centre should be put more emphasis on research activities, and further involvement of LU faculty in the Centre is necessary. The internal review panel recommended the continuation of the Centre while it implements the suggested improvements, followed by another review in three years to ensure that the Centre achieves appropriate research goals. Last June, the Senate Research Committee reviewed the Internal Panel Review's report, and based on the recommendation of the panel recommended the renewal of the Centre for an additional three years. The Senate approved the recommendation of the SRC at its October meeting.

To ensure equitable representation of all three Tri-Council eligible faculty members, the Senate Research Committee has changed its terms of reference last Fall by adding two CIHR members to its composition. The composition of the committee now includes four CIHR faculty members, four NSERC faculty members, and four SSHRC faculty members. In December 2016, the Senate Research Committee will evaluate the functioning under the new structure.

Lastly, in 2014-2015 the Chair of the Senate Research Committee was an active member of the Lakehead University Research Chair Adjudication Committee, the committee established to decide whether to grant the renewal of the Canada Research Chair of Dr. David Greenwood, as well as the Building Research Capacity Awards Committee. Moreover, the chair and some of the members of the Senate Research

Committee met with Dr. Harry Parslow in March 2015 to provide feedback regarding the search for a new Vice-President of Research, Innovation and Economic Development.

Respectfully submitted by:

Maria Grana Viola

Dr. Maria Grazia Viola

Chair, Senate Research Committee