

## **MEMORANDUM**

To: Karen Roche, Secretary of Senate

From: Dr. Hubert de Guise – Chair, Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries

Committee

Date: May 14, 2015

Subject: Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries Committee Annual Report

The Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries Committee met on two occasions during the 2014-15 academic year.

At the Nov. 28th meeting, the secretary summarized the changes in the Northwestern Ontario and Simcoe County Citizenship Scholarship. These will now be awarded to 10 students chosen by a committee. Various subcommittees were struck to examine candidates for the Poulin Award, the Presidential Scholarships, and the Citizenship Scholarships. After a prompt by Ms. Andrea Tarsitano, the committee acknowledged that, because the Poulin award need not be given to a graduating student, an alternate venue for the presentation of the award should be discussed at the following meeting.

A subcommittee, with Dr. de Guise (chair), Dr. Pernia, complemented with Dr. Brian McLaren and supported by Mrs. Cheryl Ellis, met Feb. 9th to allocate 17 NSERC Undergraduate Summer Research Awards. The chair would like to highlight the contribution of Mrs. Cheryl Ellis and Ms. Amanda Trevisanutto to the organization of this meeting, and also thank Dr. McLaren who agreed to participate on behalf of the Faculty of Natural Resource Management.

A subcommittee, comprised of Ms. Trish Sokoloski, Ms. Yolanda Twance, Mr. Shannon Foster, Mr. Joshua Levac, Mr. Tom Warden, Dr. Hubert de Guise (chair) and Mrs. Cheryl Ellis met on April 22nd to select a recipient for the Poulin Award. This year, the award goes to Ms. Alexis Sharp, a graduating student from the Department of Kinesiology. Ms. Sharp met with the Board of Governors on May 7th, and a public presentation will be made at Convocation.

An Orillia ad-hoc subcommittee formed by Ms. Jackie Bean, and Drs. Catherine Phillips, Sonia Mastrangelo, Herman van den Berg, and Larry Fiddick met on April 30th to nominate Ms. Elizabeth Breton as the recipient of the Lloyd Dennis award.

A subcommittee, with members Dr. Hubert de Guise, Dr. Erin Pearson, Ms. Emily Shandruk and Mrs. Cheryl Ellis, met on April 24th to shortlist candidates for the Presidential Scholarships. The subcommittee met again on May 4th for interviews, and selected Ms. Erika Puiras and Ms. Ruth Orloci-Goodison as scholars. Both have accepted their offer of admission to Lakehead.

A subcommittee (Ms. A.Tarsitano, Mr. J. Levac, Mr. N. Chamut, Mr. T. Favel-Lagowski) met on May 10th to consider the applications for the Northwestern Ontario & Simcoe County Citizenship Scholarships. The 10 recipients are:

Pilato, Giulia Henry, Kaitlyn Johnson, Emily Dyck, Jennifer Height, Tyler Roy-Holm, April Tennent, Sarah Ross, Alison Bhullar, Harleen Maki, Kathryn

The full SUSBC committee met again on May 12th to decide on the winners of the Major Medals. The recipients this year are as follows:

Governor General's Silver Award to Kevin Gagnon (HBSc. Chem)
Chancellor's Medal to Karin Wargel (H.B.SW)
Vice-Chancellor's Medal to Jenny Thomas (BASc)
Governor General's College Bronze Medal to Nicholas Frayn (Eng.Dip.Elec)

On behalf of the committee,

Dr. Hubert de Guise Professor

Chair, Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries Committee