

**Senate Teaching & Learning Committee** 

Date: 2014-09-06

To: Karen Roche, Secretary of Senate

From: Monica Flegel, Chair of Senate Teaching and Learning Committee

Subject: Report of the Senate Teaching and Learning Committee to Senate for 2014-09-15

meeting

On May 26, 2014, the committee met to discuss the applications for the Contributions to Teaching Awards and met again on June 6, 2014, to finalize our decisions on that award, and to discuss the applications for the Distinguished Instructor Award. We were very pleased at the number of nominations received for both awards, with nineteen submissions to the Contributions to Teaching Awards and four nominations for the Distinguished Instructor Award. We want to thank both Brett Sharman and Rhonda Koster from the Instructional Development Centre for the hard work they put into promoting the Contributions to Teaching Awards.

We had many impressive applications, and awarded six Contributions to Teaching Awards (the maximum number allowable) to the following instructors:

Osama Salem, Civil Engineering Todd Randall, Geography and the Environment Mirella Stroink, Psychology Michael Stevenson, History and Interdisciplinary Studies Matthew Boyd, Anthropology Chander Shahi, Natural Resources Management

We had equally impressive candidates for the Distinguished Instructor Award, reflecting the high caliber of teaching at Lakehead University. We were pleased to recognize Gillian Siddall, currently Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities, for her many contributions to teaching over the years.

Finally, I would like to thank Rhonda Koster for her work with the Instructional Development Centre over the past few years, and to thank Monica Ilie for her role as Chair through 2013-2014.

Respectfully submitted, Monica Flegel