

BOARD OF GOVERNORS' MEETING #13-263 Friday, February 1, 2013 at 4:00 p.m. in the Senate Chambers

AGENDA

- 1. Need for In Camera Items to be Declared
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Declaration of Conflict of Interest
- 4. Approval of Minutes of the Board of Governors' Meeting of November 2, 2012
- 5. Board Executive Committee Meeting
 - 5.1 Minutes held on December 5, 2012 *for information only*
 - 5.2 Motions passed by the Board Executive Committee on behalf of the Board of Governors:
 - Board Member Appointment to Pension Board Mr. Andy Crooks was appointed to the Pension Board.
- 6. Business Arising from the Minutes (not on the Agenda elsewhere)
- 7. Chair's Report (Mr. Cameron Clark)
- 8. President's Report (Dr. Brian Stevenson) <u>http://tinyurl.com/auhr3kx</u>
 - 8.1 Strategic Planning Objectives
- 9. Consent Agenda
 - 9.1 External Relations Committee Report and Terms of Reference for Mining and Exploration Sub-Committee
 - 9.2 Finance & Operations Committee Report
 - 9.3 Governance & Nominating Committee Report
 - 9.4 Learning & Research Committee Report
 - 9.5 Renewal, Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor

The following recommendations of tenure and promotion as well as renewal of probationary appointments are effective July 1, 2013.

Renewal of Probationary Appointments:

- Dr. Ruth Beatty, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Peter Brink, Department of Health Sciences
- Dr. Joan Chambers, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Curtis Fogel, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Valerie Hebert, Departments of Interdisciplinary Studies and History
- Dr. Sandra Jeppesen, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Thamara Laredo, Departments of Interdisciplinary Studies and Chemistry
- Dr. Christopher Murray, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Rosario Turvey, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Maria Grazia Viola, Department of Mathematical Sciences

Recommendations for Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor

- Dr. John Gotwals, School of Kinesiology
- Dr. Richard Khoury, Department of Software Engineering
- Dr. Derek Kivi, School of Kinesiology
- Dr. Camillo Lento, Faculty of Business Administration
- Dr. Florin Pendea, Department of Interdisciplinary Skills
- Dr. Alla Reznik, Department of Physics
- Dr. Susan Scott, School of Social Work
- Dr. Nam Yu, Department of Electrical Engineering
- 9.6 Ratification of Adjunct Professors
 - Dr. Chad Witcher be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the School of Kinesiology for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016.
 - Dr. Jane Lawrence Dewar be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the School of Kinesiology for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016.
 - Dr. Crescentia Dakubo be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Health Sciences for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015
 - Dr. T. Campbell McCuaig be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Geology for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016
- 9.7 Appointment of Chairs/Directors
 - Dr. Chander Shahi, Chair of HBScF, retroactive, commencing November 1, 2012 for a 3 year term ending on June 30, 2015.

MOVED that the Consent Agenda be approved.

Motions Arising out of Committee Reports

- 10. Finance and Operations Committee (Mr. David Heroux)
 - 10.1 MOVED that the following policies be rescinded:
 - Aids Policy
 - Hiring of Consultants Policy
 - 10.2 MOVED that the following policies be approved as revised:
 - Health and Safety Policy
 - Procurement Policy
 - Approval Authority Policy
 - 10.3 MOVED that the following policies be approved without revisions: (only position titles and names will change)
 - Trust & Endowment Management Policy
 - Statement of Policies and Guidelines for the Trust and Endowment Funds
 - Capital Debt Policy
- 11. Governance and Nominating Committee (Mr. Colin Bruce)
 - 11.1 MOVED that Gil Labine be appointed as Board Member on Senate for a 3-year term effective immediately until the annual Board of Governors meeting in 2015.
 - 11.2 MOVED that the revised Terms of Reference for the Audit & Risk Management Committee be approved.
 - 11.3 MOVED the revised Terms of Reference for the Finance & Operations Committee be approved.
 - 11.4 MOVED the revised Terms of Reference for the External Relations Committee be approved.
 - 11.5 MOVED that the Adjunct Professor Policy be approved.
 - 11.6 MOVED that the Board of Governors reduce its membership on Senate from three (3) to one (1).
 - 11.7 MOVED that all members serving on the Board of Governors be permitted to participate in discussions and vote on matters related to tuition.
 - 11.8 MOVED that the Board of Governors amend Article 19(c) to read "All Board members may participate in the discussion and vote on matters relating to tuition."
 - 11.9 MOVED that the revisions to the By-laws on Article 32 pertaining to the formation, reporting, and dissolution of Advisory Committees and Ad Hoc Committees be approved.

- 12. Learning and Research Committee (Mr. David Tamblyn)
 - 12.1 MOVED that the revisions to the Learning & Research Committee Work Plan be approved as revised.
- 13. Board Executive Terms of Reference Review

MOVED that the revisions to the Board Executive Committee Terms of Reference be referred to the Board Governance & Nominating Committee.

Other Business

14. Draft Strategic Plan 2013-2018 (Dr. Carney Matheson)

MOVED that the proposed Strategic Plan 2013-2018 be approved in principle and made public, and that notice of motion is given for the approval of the Strategic Plan at the March 8, 2013 Board Meeting.

- 15. Board Meetings rescheduled
 - 15.1 MOVED that the Board meeting originally scheduled for April 26th, 2013 be held on Friday, May 3, 2013.
 - 15.2 MOVED that the Board meeting originally scheduled for June 14th, 2013 be held on the Orillia Campus on Friday, June 7, 2013.
- 16. Board representative on the Review Committee for the Dean/CEO of NOSM

MOVED that ______ be appointed as the Board Representative on the Review Committee for the Dean/CEO of NOSM.

Other Reports and Information Items

- 17. Acting Chairs
 - Dr. Jennifer Roth, Acting Chair of Women's Studies from January 1, 2013 through June 30, 2013
 - Dr. Krishnamoorthy Natarajan, Acting Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering from January 14, 2013 through March 3, 2013.
- 17. Adjunct Professor Renewal (Information Only)

Dr. Myint Win Bo's appointment as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Civil Engineering has been renewed for the term commencing July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2017.

18. Report of the Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council (Ms. Nancy Bouchard)

19. Report of the Alumni Association (Mr. Mark Tilbury)

In Camera Meeting

20. MOVED that the Board of Governors move to an in-camera meeting and that Ms. Kathy Pozihun, Mr. David Hare, and Mr. Hugh Briggs be present for the in-camera session.

ADJOURN