

Telephone participants please call: 1-877-668-4493 Access code: 281 880 064

BOARD OF GOVERNORS' ANNUAL MEETING #12-261 Friday, September 28, 2012 4:00 p.m. in the Senate Chambers

AGENDA

REMINDER: Board members are invited to attend the Annual Dinner starting at 6:30pm tonight in the Odin Room at the Valhalla Inn.

- 1. Need for In Camera Items to be Declared
- 2. Deputation Ms. Emma Brightwell, President Lakehead University Student Union
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Declaration of Conflict of Interest
- 5. Approval of Minutes of the Board of Governors' Meeting of June 15, 2012
- 6. Board Executive Committee meeting held on August 9, 2012

The Board of Governors' Executive Committee met on August 9, 2012 and passed the following motions on behalf of the Board:

(no action required)

- That Brendon Johnson, Student Governor, be appointed to the Board Audit & Risk Management Committee for the term commencing immediately and expiring following the Board Annual Meeting September 28, 2012.
- That the Board supports the principle of establishing the Northern Policy Institute with Lakehead University and Laurentian University and authorizes the President to continue with the development and negotiations to that effect.
- 7. Business Arising from the Minutes (not on the Agenda elsewhere)
- 8. Chair's Report (Mr. Colin Bruce)
- 9. President's Report (Dr. Brian Stevenson)
 - 9.1 Update on Strategic Planning Objectives
- 10. Consent Agenda
 - 10.1 Audit & Risk Management Committee Annual Report
 - 10.2 Finance & Investment Committee Annual Report
 - 10.3 Governance Committee Annual Report

- 10.4 Nominating Committee Annual Report
- 10.5 Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) Committee Annual Report
- 10.6 Operations Committee
 - 10.6.1 Report on the meeting of September 10, 2012
 - 10.6.2 Annual Report
- 10.7 Senate Liaison Committee Annual Report
- 10.8 University Advancement Committee Annual Report
- 10.9 Implementation Committee Final Report
- 10.10 Research Ethics Board Annual Report
- 10.11 Ratification of Adjunct Professors and Professional Associate
 - Dr. Jane Lawrence Dewar be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Health Sciences for the term July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.
 - Dr. Mitchell S. Albert be appointed as an Internal Adjunct Professor to the Department of Health Sciences for the term July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.
 - Dr. Robert Jickling be appointed as an Internal Adjunct Professor to the Faculty of Education for the term July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016.
 - Ms. Jill Taylor-Hollings be appointed as Professional Associate to the Department of Anthropology for the term July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.
- 10.12 Appointment of Chairs/Directors
 - Dr. Serajul Islam Chair of the Department of Political Science effective immediately through June 30, 2015.
 - Dr. Rhonda Koster Director of the School of Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism effective July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.

MOVED that the Consent Agenda be approved.

Motions Arising out of Committee Reports

- 11. Audit & Risk Management Committee Report (Mr. Ken Chase)
 - 11.1 MOVED that the Board of Governors accept and approve the 2011/12 Financial Statements of Lakehead University and the Independent Auditors' Report attached thereto.
 - ^{11.2} MOVED that the Board of Governors appoint _____ as auditors for the 2012/13 fiscal year.
- 12. Governance Committee Report (Ms. Frances Picherack)

MOVED that all appointments to Standing Committees of the Board of Governors be for a one-year term, and that such term be re-confirmed as appropriate at the annual general meeting of the Board.

13. Finance and Investment Committee Report (Mr. Chris Fernyc)

Investment Resolution

MOVED that the President and the Vice-President (Administration & Finance) shall be authorized to manage the investments of the University and to purchase, transfer, exchange, sell or otherwise dispose of or turn to account or realize upon securities, in accordance with the policies established by the Board on the recommendations of the Finance and Investment Committee, such as the Statement of Investment Policies and Guidelines for trust and Endowment Funds Policy, in accordance with the terms of reference of the Committee, and the laws and statutes of the Province of Ontario and the Government of Canada. During the absence of either the President or the Vice-President (Administration & Finance) any one of the signing officers shall be authorized as the second signature. During the absence of both the President and the Vice-President (Administration & Finance) any two of the signing officers shall be authorized to perform the aforementioned activities until the Annual Meeting in 2013.

- 14. Nominating Committee Report (Mr. Kevin Cleghorn)
 - 14.1 MOVED that the following Board members be appointed as Officers of the Board for 2012-2014:
 - Mr. Cam Clark Chair
 - Mr. Murray Walberg Vice-Chair
 - Mr. Colin Bruce Past-Chair
 - Dr. Brian Stevenson President
 - Ms. Karen Roche Secretary

- 14.2 MOVED that Mr. Eric Zakrewski be elected to the Board of Governors for a 2012–2014 term.
- ^{14.3} MOVED that the members of the Executive Committee and the members and Chairs of the Standing Committees for 2012-13 be approved as recommended in the Nominating Committee Report.
- 15. Operations Committee Report (Mr. Kurt Dahl)

MOVED that the Health and Safety Report be accepted.

16. Implementation Committee (Mr. Cam Clark)

MOVED that the Ad Hoc Implementation Committee be dissolved.

Other Business

17. Report from the University Secretary (Ms. Karen Roche)

Policies:

- Aids
- Health and Safety
- Procurement
- Adjunct Professor
- 18. Appointments to Other Committees and Organizations
 - 18.1 Judicial Panel Appointments
 - 18.1.1 MOVED that the following <u>faculty</u> members be appointed to the Judicial Panel for the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures for a one-year period commencing immediately through the 2013 Annual meeting:
 - Dr. Gautam Das (Physics)
 - Dr. Ron Davis (Psychology)
 - Dr. Sonja Gover (Education)
 - Dr. Robert Mawhinney (Chemistry)
 - Prof. Michel Morton (Nursing)
 - Dr. David Tranter (Social Work)
 - Dr. Tamara Varney (Anthropology)
 - Dr. Beatrice Vernier-Larochette (Languages)
 - Dr. Erin Gray (Social Work) sabbatical replacement
 - 18.2 O-AGC
 - 18.2.1 MOVED that Ms. Judy Flett be recommended as the Board of Governors member on the O-AGC for the term commencing October 2012 through September 2013.

Other Reports and Information Items

- 19. Report of the Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council (Ms. Nancy Bouchard)
- 20. Acting Chairs
 - Dr. Paul Berger, Acting Chair of the Department of Undergraduate Studies in Education, effective July 1, 2012 through June 31, 2013.
 - Dr. Glenn Colton, Acting Chair of the Department of Music effective immediately through June 30, 2013.
- 21. Report of the Alumni Association (Mr. Mark Tilbury)
- 22. Year End Report on Achievements in the Implementation of the Strategic Plan for 2011-12 (Mr. Gerry Munt)

ADJOURN