

BOARD OF GOVERNORS' MEETING #14-270 Friday May 2, 2014 at 4:00 pm Senate Chambers

AGENDA

- Guest Speaker Sexual Assault Task Force Update – Dr. Lori Chambers
- Need for In Camera Items to be Declared
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Declaration of Conflict of Interest

Members are reminded of their duty to declare a conflict of interest should awareness of conflict arise at any time in the meeting.

- 5. Approval of Minutes of the Board of Governors' Meeting of March 28, 2014.
- 6. Business Arising from the Minutes (not on the Agenda elsewhere)
- 7. President's Report (Dr. Brian Stevenson)
 - 7.1 Strategic Planning Objectives
- 8. Consent Agenda
 - 8.1 Board Governance & Nominating Committee Report
 - 8.2 Appointment of Chairs/Directors
 - Dr. Apichart Linhananta, Chair of the Department of Physics, for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.
 - Dr. Todd Dufresne, Chair of the Department of Philosophy, for a 1 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015.
 - Dr. Frances Helyar, Chair of Undergraduate Education Orillia Campus, for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.
 - Dr. Lynn Martin, Chair of the Department of Health Sciences, for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.
 - Dr. Razvan Anisca, Chair of the Department of Mathematical

Sciences for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.

- Dr. Christine Gottardo, Chair of the Department of Chemistry, for a 1 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015.
- Dr. David Law, Chair of the Department of Biology, for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.
- Dr. Jennifer Roth, Chair of the Department of Women's Studies, for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.
- Dr. Paul Berger, Chair of the Department of Graduate Studies in Research in Education – Faculty of Education, for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.
- Dr. Beatrice Vernier-Larochette, Chair of the Department of Languages, for a 3 year term, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2017.

MOVED that the Consent Agenda be approved.

Motions Arising out of Committee Reports

- 9. Board Governance & Nominating Committee (Bruce Waite)
 - 9.1 MOVED that the revisions to the Board Executive Committee Terms of Reference be approved, as circulated with the Board meeting materials.

Other Reports and Information Items

- 10. Report of the Board of Governors' Representative to Senate (Mr. Gil Labine)
- 11. Report of the Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council (Mr. David Tamblyn)
- 12. NOSM Report April 2014
- 13. Acting Chairs
 - Dr. Sandra Wolf, Acting Chair of the Department of Aboriginal Education in the Faculty of Education, effective July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015.
- 14. Lieutenant Governor in Council Renewal

Mr. Bruce Waite was reappointed as a member of the Board of Governors of Lakehead University for a period of three years, effective from April 16, 2014 through April 15, 2017.