

REPORT OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS

The Board of Governors is committed to the principle of accountability to the students, faculty and staff of Lakehead University and to the public which is served by the University. It is the intent of the Board to demonstrate this commitment by conducting its public business at meetings and then distributing the action taken.

Board of Governors' Meeting held on Friday, January 22, 2010. Agendas and Minutes for all Board meetings can be found at <u>http://board.lakeheadu.ca/</u>.

** Reports are available from Ms. Patti Merriman, Secretary of the Board of Governors, 343-8614 or patti.merriman@lakeheadu.ca

Action Taken at January 22nd Board Meeting:

- 1. The Governance Committee recommended the approval of By-Law amendments to Articles 1q, 13e, 20, 29d and 30b, Finance & Investment Committee Terms of Reference, Operations Committee Terms of Reference, and University Advancement Committee Membership. The By-Law amendments were approved and can be viewed at http://board.lakeheadu.ca/wp/?pg=23.
- 2. The Nominating Committee approved Mssrs. Campbell and Clark as members of the Finance & Investment Committee. The Committee also approved Mr. Cam Clark as the new Chair of the University Advancement Committee. **
- 3. The University Advancement Committee's 2009/10 Action Plan was approved. It can be viewed at http://board.lakeheadu.ca/committee.php?show=acplan&cid=6.
- 4. The following recommendations for tenure and simultaneous promotion, tenure, and renewal of probationary appointments were approved.

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR RENEWAL OF PROBATIONARY APPOINTMENTS

Dr. Kristin Burnett Dr. Martha Dowsley Dr. Rupert Klein Dr. Changquan Jiao Dr. Derek Kivi Dr. Ali Manzak Dr. Lynn Martin Prof. Karen McQueen Dr. Jane Nicholas Dr. Antony J. Puddephatt Dr. Jennifer Roth Dr. Chander Shahi Dr. Robert Stewart Prof. Shane Strickland Dr. Xuenqen Wang Dr. Elaine Wiersma Dr. Sandra Wolf Dr. Hui Zhang

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR TENURE AND SIMULTANEOUS PROMOTION TO ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

- Dr. Michel Beaulieu Dr. R. Paul Berger Dr. Kevin Crowe Dr. Lida Fan Dr. Monica Flegel Dr. Anna Guttman Dr. Timothy Hardie Dr. Douglas Hayes
- Dr. Dean Jobin-Bevans Dr. Tim Kaiser Dr. Nandakumar Kanavillil Dr. Robert Mawhinney Dr. Brian McLaren Dr. Juan Pernia Dr. Edward Rawana Dr. Tamara Varney
- 5. The Board approved Dr. Donald Kerr as Chair of the Department of Lifelong Learning, Faculty of Education, effective December 1, 2009 to June 30, 2012

Items for Information at the January 22nd Board Meeting:

- 1. The Finance & Investment Committee submitted a report which spoke to financial policy review, a Gluskin Sheff & Associates Inc. report and the University's cash flow position. **
- 2. The Operations Committee submitted a report which reviewed the Braun Building restoration, Orillia Campus, Port Arthur Collegiate Institute (PACI) facility, C.J. Sanders Fieldhouse sewer line update, and a Human Resources update. **
- 3. The Student Liaison Committee submitted a report which provided information regarding the process for surveying students, how those surveys are conducted, how the results are used and highlights of various surveys.
- 4. The University Advancement Committee's report dealt with the University Advancement Plan 2009-2015, President's Report, Mining and Exploration Fund Development Sub-Committee, Orillia Campaign, and Alumni Relations. **
- The Alumni Association submitted a report which dealt with the Toronto and Orillia Visit, the Annual General Meeting and Directors' elections for 2009-2010.
- 6. The Lakehead University Student Union provided a report which included the use of PACI for examinations, hosting a meeting in February for Universities in Northern Ontario, and the new executive elections. **
- 7. The Board was informed that Dr. Paul Berger had been appointed Acting Chair in the Department of Aboriginal Education, Faculty of Education, effective January 1, 2010 to August 31, 2010.
- 8. Mr. Gil Labine, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre Board Representative, submitted a written report which provided an update from the TBRHSC Foundation; President; Chief of Staff; Medicine, Cardiology, Mental Health, and Maternal Child Services; ER, Critical Care, Trauma and Surgery; and Regional Cancer and Diagnostics. **

9. Dr. Strasser, Dean, Northern Ontario School of Medicine, submitted a report about Northern Health Research Conference call from Abstracts, NOSM faculty taking up positions at prestigious college, NOSM participants in Canadian Aboriginal Festival and presented video montage of year. **