LAKEHEAD UNIVERSITY Report of the Senate Organization Committee

25 September 2008

Submitted by Dr. G. Colton (Chair), for Dr. L. Hayes, Dr. R. Pulkki, Dr. R. Delaney, Dr. R. Farrell, Dr. N. Sayed, Mr. G. Boyle, and Ms. K. Roche (Secretary)

A meeting of the Senate Organization Committee was held on September 18, 2008, in the LUSU Boardroom.

The committee reviewed the Senate Organization Committee Terms of Reference, elected a new Chair, established a meeting schedule for 2008-09, and passed two motions to be brought forward to Senate. The secretary updated the committee on minor job title changes in Senate Committee's Terms of Reference.

The committee considered a request from the Senate Budget Committee that the Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies be added to the composition of the Senate Budget Committee and passed an amendment to that committee's Terms of Reference to that effect. A motion to approve this change will be brought forward to the October 3, 2008 meeting of Senate, as follows:

MOVED that the Terms of Reference for the Senate Budget Committee be amended to add the Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies to the composition of the Senate Budget Committee and that the term of office be deemed ex officio.

A separate motion was approved to add the Senior Associate Dean (West) of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine as a voting member of Senate and as a member of the Faculty of Graduate Studies Council. Previously the Campus Dean (West) of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine was a member of the Lakehead University Senate and the Faculty of Graduate Studies Council, but this position was not included in the Lakehead University By-laws passed in May 2008. Due to the restructuring of NOSM, the Senior Associate Dean (West) position was created and filled. A motion to approve this change will be brought forward to the November 7, 2008 meeting of Senate, with a notice of motion given in the October 3 meeting.

The committee's next meeting is scheduled for October 9, 2008.

Dr. G. Colton (on behalf of the Senate Organization Committee)