Report of the Senate Nominations Committee September 26, 2008

The Senate Nominations Committee met on September 11, 2008 to consider nominations for Faculty Replacements on Senate Committees created by changes during the summer period. The committee proposes the following nominations for approval by Senate:

- 1. Senate Honorary Degrees Committee *Dr. Jane Nicholas* to replace Dr. Jessica Whitley for a term beginning immediately and ending on June 30, 2010. Dr. Whitley resigned from the University as of June 30, 2008,
- 2. Senate Committee on Teaching and Learning *Dr. Douglas Hayes* to replace Dr. Moira McPherson for a term beginning immediately and ending on June 30, 2009. Dr. McPherson resigned from the committee following her secondment to the position Assistant Vice-President Academic.
- 3. Senate Research Ethics Board Committee *Dr. Chander Shahi* be appointed as an NSERC eligible faculty member with experience in or knowledge of human subject research for a term beginning immediately and ending on June 30, 2010. The Committee nominates *Donnas Stuart* as one of the community members on the Senate Research Ethics Board Committee for a term beginning immediately and ending on June 30, 2011; and *Ms. Cindy Sinnotte* be nominated as the representative from Lakehead University Centre for Health Care Ethics on the Senate Research Ethics Board Committee.

The next meeting of the Senate Nomination Committee will be on Monday, September 29, 2008 at 2 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Hope-Arlene Fennell, Ph. D. Chair