

REPORT OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS' EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The Board of Governors is committed to the principle of accountability to the students, faculty and staff of Lakehead University and to the public which is served by the University. It is the intent of the Board to demonstrate this commitment by conducting its public business at meetings and then distributing the action taken and the items for information.

The Executive Committee may, when it deems necessary, exercise all the powers of the Board in the management of the affairs of the University. The Executive Committee normally meets once a month.

The Board of Governors' Executive Committee membership is listed below:

Mr. Don Campbell, Chair

Mr. Kevin Cleghorn, Vice-Chair

Mrs. Jackie Dojack, Past-Chair

Dr. Fred Gilbert, President

Ms. Ann Dumyn, Chair, Finance & Investment Committee

Mr. Harvey Cardwell, Chair, Operations Committee

TBA, Chair, Senate Liaison Committee and Senate Representative

Ms. Krystin Kempton, Chair, Student Liaison Committee

Mr. Andy Crooks, Chair, University Advancement Committee

Mr. Tim Pile, Aboriginal Management Council Representative

Mr. Ron Marostica, Elected Member

Mr. Doug Robson, Elected Member

Board of Governors' Executive Committee Meeting held on Thursday, October 2nd, 2008

** Reports are available from Ms. Patti Merriman, Secretary of the Board of Governors, 343-8614 or patti.merriman@lakeheadu.ca

Action Taken at October 2nd, 2008 Board Executive Committee Meeting:

- 1. The Board Executive Committee reviewed and approved the Presidential Search Committee Terms of Reference. The Terms of Reference state that eighteen months before the conclusion of a President's term, the recommendation shall be brought forward to the Board of Governors for renewal or a search. Since Dr. Gilbert's contract ends on May 31, 2010 and he is not considering another term, a Presidential Search Committee will be struck in December 2008.
- 2. Ms. Judy Flett was approved as the Board of Governors' Representative on the Search Committee for the Dean of Health & Behavioural Sciences.