

MEMORANDUM

To: Ms. Barbara Eccles, Secretary of Senate

From: Dr. Richard Maundrell, Chair, Senate Academic Committee

Senate Meeting Date: November 4, 2019

Subject: Senate Academic Committee Report

The Senate Academic Committee (SAC) met on October 2, 2019

Senate Academic Committee - Quality Assurance Subcommittee (SAC-QA) 1.1 SAC-QA Membership

- Dr. Sree Kurissery and Dr. Shikui Wu were elected to SAC-Quality Assurance Sub-Committee for a two-year term.
- Ms. Karen Poole was elected to the SAC-Quality Assurance Sub-Committee for a 6-month term to fill a sabbatical.
- Ms. Jessica Allingham and Mr. Nicholas Michieli, graduate and undergraduate student representatives respectively, were elected to the SAC-Quality Assurance Sub-Committee for a two-year term.
- 1.2 SAC-QA reviewed the Final Assessment Report (FAR) and Implementation Plan (IP) for the Cyclical Program Review of the undergraduate and graduate History programs and reported to SAC. SAC passed a motion to accept the Final Assessment Report and Implementation Plan of the Cyclical Review of the History programs and forward the Executive Summary to Senate as an item of information. The Executive Summary is available online at https://www.lakeheadu.ca/faculty-and-staff/departments/services/provost-vice-president-academic/quality-assurance/cyclical-program-reviews/executive-summaries.
- 1.3 SAC-QA reviewed the Final Assessment Report (FAR) and Implementation Plan (IP) for the Cyclical Program Review of the undergraduate Music programs and reported to SAC. SAC passed a motion to accept the Final Assessment Report and Implementation Plan of the Cyclical Review of the Music programs and forward the Executive Summary to Senate as an item of information. The Executive Summary is available online at https://www.lakeheadu.ca/faculty-and-staff/departments/services/provost-vice-president-academic/quality-assurance/cyclical-program-reviews/executive-summaries.

2. Senate Academic Committee - Regulations Subcommittee

- 2.1 SAC-Regulations Membership
 - Dr. Joan Chambers was elected to SAC-Regulations for a two-year term.

3. Senate Academic Committee/Ogimaawin-Aboriginal Governance Council 3.1 SAC-O-AGC Membership

• Dr. Rhonda Koster and Dr. Jula Hughes were elected to SAC/O-AGC for a 1-year term.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Richard Maundrell Chair, Senate Academic Committee

/bn