

## Report on the June 7, 2019 Board of Governors Meeting

Members: Mr. Robert Arnone; Dr. Michel Beaulieu; Ms. Ann Dumyn; Dr. Christine Gottardo; Ms. Angela Maltese; Mr. Brian McKinnon; Dr. Moira McPherson; Mr. Ross Murray (Chair); Ms. Kathryn Rippey; Ms. Catherine Siemieniuk; Mr. Sean Speer; Mr. David Tamblyn; Ms. Cathy Tuckwell; Ms. Maria Vasanelli; Mr. Nathan Wainwright; Ms. Wendy Walberg

The Board of Governors met on June 7, 2019 at the Orillia campus.

The minutes of the April 25, 2019 meeting were approved.

The Board received the Lakehead University 2019-24 Sustainability Action Plan for information. The Plan was endorsed by the Senate on May 13, 2019.

## Reports circulated for information:

- June 2019 President's Report online version
- Board Executive Committee In Camera Report (of the May 16, 2019 meeting)
- Audit & Risk Regular and In Camera Report (of the May 16, 2019 meeting)
  - o Pension Investment Fund Annual Report (as of December 31, 2018)
- External Relations Committee Regular and In Camera Report (of the April 11, 2019 meeting)
- Finance & Operations Committee Regular and In Camera Report (of the April 12, 2019 meeting)
- Governance & Nominating Committee Regular and In Camera Report (of the April 11, 2019 meeting)
- Northern Ontario School of Medicine Activity Report (May June 2019)
- Senate Report (of the May 13, 2019 meeting)
- Board of Governors Workplan progress report

The following updates, reports and presentations were provided:

- Lakehead University Strategic Plan interim progress report and presentation
- Update on Maple Leaf School

The following motions were adopted during the regular meeting:

- Approval of the University Pension Investment Fund financial statements
- Approval of amendments to the Statement of Investment Policies and Procedures, Lakehead University Pension Plan
- Approval of amendments to the Endowment Management Policy
- Approval of amendments to the Lakehead University Professional Pension Plan Text
- Approval of amendments to the Board of Governors Bylaws, Article 1(e) and 1(f)

An in camera meeting was held to discuss items of personnel, legal, or real estate nature, and other sensitive or confidential matters.

The Board received an in camera report from the President on promotion to Professor. The following individuals were granted promotion to Professor, effective July 1, 2019 as detailed below:

- Dr. Carlos Christofferson, Department of Electrical Engineering
- Dr. Monica Flegel, Department of English
- Dr. Elizabeth Kajander, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Eltayeb Mohamedelhassan, Department of Civil Engineering
- Dr. Thomas Potter, School of Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism
- Dr. Todd Randall, Department of Geography and the Environment
- Dr. Jennifer Roth, Department of Women's Studies
- Dr. Tamara Varney, Department of Anthropology

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors is October 3, 2019, in room OA2005, Orillia campus.