

MEMORANDUM

To: Barbara H. Eccles, Secretary of Senate From: Dr. Amanda Diochon - Chair, Senate Nominations Committee Senate Meeting Date: March 30, 2020 Subject: Senate Nominations Committee Report

The Senate Nominations Committee met on March 6, 2020 to recommend faculty members to fill the upcoming vacancies on Senate Standing Committees. Thirty-eight faculty members applied, and the Committee was tasked with making recommendations for a total of 24 vacancies. As a result of the enthusiastic response from the faculty members to our call for interest to serve, the Committee was able to recommend faculty to fill all of the upcoming vacancies. The list of our recommendations to the Senate is provided below.

Senate Academic Appeals Committee

- Dr. Steven Jobbitt for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Kathy Kortes-Miller for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Zikun Zhang for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023

Senate Academic Committee

- Dr. Sreekumari Kurissery for the Senator term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Richard Maundrell for the Senator term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Ebrahim Rezaei for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023

Senate Budget Committee

- Dr. Jian Deng for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022
- Dr. Salimur Choudhury for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022
- Dr. Sarah Jacoba for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022

Senate Honorary Degrees Committee

Dr. Michael Stevenson for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020

Senate Organization Committee

• Dr. Anna Guttman for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023

Senate Research Committee

- Dr. Ahmed Elshaer for the NSERC term commencing July 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020
- Dr. Catherine Phillips for the CIHR term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Wenyao Guillaume (Will) Zhao for the CIHR term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023

Senate Teaching and Learning Committee

- Dr. Scott Pound for the Faculty of Social Science and Humanities term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Robert Omeljaniuk for the Faculty of Science and Environmental Studies term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Naqi Sayed for the Faculty of Business Administration term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023

Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries Committee

- Dr. Muntasir Billah for the term commencing January 1, 2021 to June 30, 2021
- Dr. Matthew Tocheri for the term commencing January 1, 2021 to June 30, 2021
- Dr. Yimin Yang for the term commencing January 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022

Senate Undergraduate Studies Committee

- Dr. Kristy Holmes for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023
- Dr. Wilson Wang for the term commencing July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2023

The next Senate Nominations Committee is scheduled for April 22, 2020.

Respectfully submitted,

Amanda Diochon Chair, Senate Nominations Committee