

Report on the January 31, 2020 Board of Governors Meeting

Members: Robert Arnone; Dr. Michel Beaulieu; Ann Dumyn; Dr. Christine Gottardo; Angela Maltese; Brian McKinnon; Dr. Moira McPherson; Dawne Mowbray; Ross Murray (Chair); Kathryn Rippey; Anna Sampson; Sean Speer; David Tamblyn; Cathy Tuckwell; Maria Vasanelli; Murray Waboose; Wendy Walberg

The Board of Governors met on January 31, 2020 at the Thunder Bay campus.

The Board was informed in advance that Fossil Free Lakehead planned to attend the open portion of the meeting and would be holding a silent demonstration prior to the meeting in support of divestment. The Chair welcomed and acknowledged the Fossil Free Lakehead group to the open Board meeting.

The Chair acknowledged the recent passing of Roy Piovesana. In 2015 Lakehead University made Roy a Fellow in recognition of his substantial contributions to the growth and development of the university.

The minutes of the November 22, 2019 meeting were approved.

Reports circulated for information:

- President's Report
- President's Report on Appointments
- · Report from the Board Chair
- Audit and Risk Committee report
- External Relations Committee report
- Finance and Operations Committee report
- Governance and Nominating Committee report
- Learning and Research Committee report
- Northern Ontario School of Medicine report
- Senate Report (of the December 2, 2019 and January 20, 2020 meetings)

The following updates, reports and presentations were provided:

- Update on the Fossil Free Lakehead deputation to the Board Finance and Operations Committee on November 7, 2019, including next steps
- 2019-20 Fall Enrolment Update
- Strategic Enrolment Update
- First Progress Report on Strategic Plan Year Two
- Research and Innovation Week Overview

The following motions were adopted during the open meeting:

- Approval of amendments to the Pension Plan for Professional Staff at Lakehead University
- Approval of amendments to the Lakehead University Employee Pension Plan

In camera sessions were held to discuss items of personnel, legal, or real estate nature, and other sensitive or confidential matters. The following items of business were dealt with in camera:

- Student Member Appointment
- External Relations Committee in camera report
- Finance and Operations Committee in camera report
- Governance and Nominating Committee in camera report
- Fellow Nominations
- Report from the Board Chair
- Report from the President, including Report on Renewal and Tenure/Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor

The following in camera details were reported during the open meeting:

- MOVED that Dawne Mowbray be appointed as the Student Member for a one year term commencing immediately, through to the annual meeting in 2020.
- MOVED that Angela Maltese be recommended to the Lieutenant Governor in Council for reappointment for up to a three year term.
- During the in camera meeting, the President reported that she has granted Renewal and Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor, effective July 1, 2020 to the following individuals:

Renewal of Probationary Appointments:

- Dr. Irfan Butt, Faculty of Business Administration
- Dr. Liang Cui, Department of Civil Engineering
- Dr. Donald Henne, Faculty of Natural Resources Management
- Dr. Anna Kone Pefoyo, Department of Sciences
- Dr. Ali Tarokh, Department of Mechanical Engineering
- Dr. David Thompson, School of Nursing
- Dr. ShiKui Wu, Faculty of Business Administration
- Dr. Abdulsalam Yassine, Department of Software Engineering
- Dr. Wenyai Zhao, Faculty of Business Administration
- Dr. Michael Campbell, Department of Chemistry
- Dr. Jennifer Chisholm, Department of Women's Studies
- Dr. Salimur Choudhury, Department of Computer Sciences
- Dr. Sarah Jacoba, Department of Languages
- Dr. Gabriel Oba, Department of Chemistry
- Dr. Deborah Scharf, Department of Psychology
- Dr. Karl Stogstad, Department of Economics
- Dr. Lana Ray, Department of Indigenous Learning

Renewal, Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor:

- Dr. Max Haiven, Department of English
- Dr. Barbara Parker, Department of Sociology

Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor:

Dr. Paul Cormier, Faculty of Education

Dr. Lesia Desmoulins, Faculty of Education

Prof. Daniel Dylan, Bora Laskin Faculty of Law

Dr. Sylvane Filice, School of Nursing

Dr. Angela Hovey, School of Social Work

Dr. Meridith Lovell-Johnston, Faculty of Education

Dr. Fashid Shams, Faculty of Business Administration

Dr. Ryan McVeigh, Departments of Sociology and Interdisciplinary Studies

Dr. Chris Sanders, Department of Sociology

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors is March 12, 2020 from 9:00am-1:00pm in the Senate Chambers (Thunder Bay location) and OA 2005 (Orillia location).