IX Senate Library Committee

Approved by Senate

Last Revised: April 1, 2005; Dec. 4, 2009; February 26, 2010

Seven (7) days notice shall be given for all meetings except that a meeting may be held at any time without due notice if all members of the committee are able to be present and/or consent thereto.

Quorum: Unless otherwise stated in the approved terms of reference, quorum for Senate and all Senate committees is a simple majority of all filled positions. Committee members whose positions are listed as ** shall not be included in the total when quorum is counted.

Composition

- 1. Vice-President (Academic) & Provost & Vice-President (Academic)**
- 2. Vice-President (Research, Economic Development & Innovation)**
- 3. Dean of Graduate Studies Dean (to be appointed from and by the Dean's Council on a

yearly rotating basis)

- 4. University Librarian
- 5. Director of Continuing Education & Distributed Learning
- 6. Education Librarian
- 7. Five full-time faculty members elected by Senate on the recommendation of the Senate Nominations Committee
- 8. Two undergraduate students elected by Senate on the recommendation of LUSU
- 9. One graduate student elected by Senate on the recommendation from LUSU in consultation with the Graduate Student Commissioner

Terms of Office

- 1 to 6 ex officio
- 7 three-year terms (renewable)

8 & 9 one-year terms (renewable)

Organization

1. Chair: to be elected annually by the Committee from among those members on the Committee holding academic appointment

- 2. Secretary: Secretary to the University Librarian
- 3. Administrative Office: Office of the University Librarian

Terms of Reference

1. To provide input from the University user community to the University Librarian on existing Library policies and procedures.

2. To consider, on behalf of the University user community, proposed changes to Library policies and procedures.

3. To advise Senate on Library policy and procedure issues.