

Report from Senate Member on the Board of Governors - February 15th, 2013

Board of Governors Meeting – February 1st, 2013

There were some very important motions approved at the Board of Governors meeting which included:

MOTION APPROVED: That all members serving on the Board of Governors be permitted to participate in discussions and vote on matters related to tuition.

MOTION APPROVED: That the Board of Governors amend Article 19(c) to read "All Board members may participate in the discussion and vote on matters relating to tuition."

There were other matters approved that included reducing the number of Board members of Senate from three members to one member. Currently there are three members and with the Board restructuring there will only be one staff, one student and one faculty member of the Board of Governors this change is to reflect that there should be just one Board of Governor on Senate.

After the implementation of the new structure to Lakehead University's Board of Governors, this meeting saw many changes and updates to the terms of reference for some of the Board's subcommittees. The results of the review of many of the Lakehead University policies were also approved.

Members of the Board of Governors approved the final draft of the Lakehead University Strategic Plan. This final draft has been approved to go out to the Lakehead University community.

The Board of Governors approved the following renewals:

- Dr. Ruth Beatty, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Peter Brink, Department of Health Sciences
- Dr. Joan Chambers, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Curtis Fogel, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Valerie Hebert, Departments of Interdisciplinary Studies and History
- Dr. Sandra Jeppesen, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Thamara Laredo, Departments of Interdisciplinary Studies and Chemistry
- Dr. Christopher Murray, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Rosario Turvey, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies
- Dr. Maria Grazia Viola, Department of Mathematical Sciences

Promotions to Associate professor and Tenure:

- Dr. John Gotwals, School of Kinesiology
- Dr. Richard Khoury, Department of Software Engineering
- Dr. Derek Kivi, School of Kinesiology
- Dr. Camillo Lento, Faculty of Business Administration
- Dr. Florin Pendea, Department of Interdisciplinary Skills
- Dr. Alla Reznik, Department of Physics
- Dr. Susan Scott, School of Social Work
- Dr. Nam Yu, Department of Electrical Engineering

Ratifications to adjunct appointments:

- Dr. Chad Witcher be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the School of Kinesiology for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016.
- Dr. Jane Lawrence Dewar be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the School of Kinesiology for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016.
- Dr. Crescentia Dakubo be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Health Sciences for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015
- Dr. T. Campbell McCuaig be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Geology for the term (retroactive) July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016

Appointment of Chairs and Directors:

– Dr. Chander Shahi, Chair of HBScF, retroactive, commencing November 1, 2012 for a 3 year term ending on June 30, 2015.

The Board of Governors also took part in their Board of Governors retreat which was very successful and enlightening.

Submitted by Carney Matheson, Senate Member Board of Governors