Revised



BOARD OF GOVERNORS' ANNUAL MEETING #11-255 Friday, September 30, 2011 at 4:00 p.m. in the Senate Chambers

AGENDA

GUEST SPEAKER- Presentation on Academic Plan – Dr. Rod Hanley and Dr. Moira McPherson

- 1. Need for In Camera Items to be Declared
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Declaration of Conflict of Interest
- 4. Approval of Minutes of the Board of Governors' Meeting of June 3, 2011
- 5. Business Arising from the Minutes (not on the Agenda elsewhere)
- 6. Chair's Report (Mr. Colin Bruce)
- 7. President's Report (Dr. Brian Stevenson)
- 8. Report on Strategic Planning (Mr. Gerry Munt)
- 9. Consent Agenda
 - 9.1 Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) Committee Report (Mr. Gil Labine)
 - 9.2 Annual Operations Committee Report (Mr. Kurt Dahl)
 - 9.3 Annual Senate Liaison Committee Report (Dr. Christine Gottardo)
 - 9.4 Annual Student Liaison Committee Report (Ms. Margaret Ryan)
 - 9.5 Annual University Advancement Committee Report (Mr. Cam Clark)
 - 9.6 Appointment of Chairs/Directors
 - Professor Jo-Anne Ryan –
 Chair of the Business
 Program Orillia (September 1, 2011 August 31, 2014)
- Dr. David Law Chair of the Biology Department (July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2014)
- Dr. Wa Gao Chair of the department of Civil Engineering (July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2014)

- 9.7 Alumni Association Report
- 9.8 Lakehead University Student Union Report
- 9.9 Northern Ontario School of Medicine Report
- 9.10 Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre Report
- 10. Report of the Task Force held on September 28, 2011 (Mr. Colin Bruce)
- 11. Report of the Committee of the Whole held on September 29, 2011 (Mr. Colin Bruce)
- 12. Motions Arising out of Committee Reports
 - 12.1 Audit & Risk Management Committee Report (Mr. Ken Chase)
 - 12.1.1 MOVED that the Board of Governors accept and approve the 2010/11 Financial Statements of Lakehead University and the Auditors' Report attached thereto.
 - 12.1.2 MOVED that the Board of Governors appoint BDO Canada LLP as auditors for the University for the 2011/12 fiscal year.
 - 12.2 Governance Committee Report (Ms. Frances Picherack)
 - 12.2.1 MOVED that the proposed amendments to the Board of Governors' By-laws be approved.
 - 12.2.2 MOVED that the policy "Open Meetings of the Board of Governors, Policy to Guide and Practice of" be rescinded.
 - 12.2.3 MOVED that the Governance Survey Report be accepted.
 - 12.3 Finance and Investment Committee Report (Mr. Chris Fernyc)

Investment Resolution

- 12.3.1 MOVED that the Pension Investment Fund Statements (ending December 31, 2010) be approved.
- 12.3.2 Investment Resolution

MOVED that the President and the Vice-President (Administration & Finance) shall be authorized to manage the investments of the University and to purchase, transfer, exchange, sell or otherwise dispose of or turn to account or realize upon securities, in accordance with the policies established by the Board on the recommendations of the Finance and Investment Committee, such as the Statement of Investment Policies and Guidelines for rust and

Endowment Funds Policy, in accordance with the terms of reference of the Committee, and the laws and statutes of the Province of Ontario and the Government of Canada. During the absence of either the President or the Vice-President (Administration & Finance) any one of the signing officers shall be authorized as the second signature. During the absence of both the President and the Vice-President (Administration & Finance) any two of the signing officers shall be authorized to perform the aforementioned activities until the Annual Meeting in 2011.

- 12.4 Nominating Committee Report (Mr. Kevin Cleghorn)
 - 12.4.1 MOVED that the following be elected to the Board of Governors for the terms indicated:

(Biographies to be distributed)

Mr. Andy Crooks 2011-2014 elected member (returning)	
Mr. David Heroux 2011-2014 elected member (returning)	
Mr. Anthony LeBlanc 2011-2014 elected member (returning)	
Ms. Frances Picherack 2011-2014 elected member (returning)	
Mr. David Tamblyn 2011-2014 elected member (returning)	
TBA 2011-2014 non-union, non-faculty member	
TBA 2011-2014 Senate representative	
Mr. Tom Morris 2011-2014 LGIC member (returning)	
Mr. Bruce Waite 2011-2014 LGIC member (returning)	
Ms. Erin Carter 2011-2012 LUSU Graduate representative (returning	3)
Ms. Katie Spurvey 2011-2012 LUSU Undergraduate representative(returning	3)
Mr. Kyle Tyo 2011-2012 LUSU Undergraduate representative	

- 12.4.2 MOVED that the members of the Executive Committee and the members of the Standing Committees for 2011-12 be approved as recommended in the Nominating Committee Report.
- 12.4.3 MOVED that the following Board members be appointed as Officers of the Board:

Mr. Colin Bruce	Chair
Mr. Cam Clark	Vice-Chair
Mr. Kevin Cleghorn	Past-Chair
Dr. Brian Stevenson	President
Ms. Karen Roche	Secretary

- 12.4.4 MOVED that appointment of individuals to fill the remaining vacancies be brought to the November 2011 Board meeting.
- 12.4.5 MOVED that the Nominating Committee Report be accepted.

13. Other Business

13.1 Appointment of the Board of Governors' representative to the Ogimaawin/Aboriginal Governance Council

MOVED that Judy Flett be re-appointed as the Board of Governors' representative to the Ogimaawin/Aboriginal Governance Council for the term commencing October 1, 2011 to the 2012 Board of Governors' Annual Meeting.

- 13.2 Appointments to the Judicial Panel for the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures
 - 13.2.1 MOVED that the following <u>faculty</u> members be appointed to the Judicial Panel for the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures for a one-year period commencing immediately to the 2012 Annual meeting.
 - 13.2.2 MOVED that the following <u>student</u> members be appointed to the <u>Judicial Panel for the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures for a one-year period commencing immediately to the 2012 Annual meeting.</u>
- 13.4 Election of Members to the Nominating Committee (1 vacancy)
 - 13.4.1 MOVED that nominations for the Nominating Committee be closed.
 - 13.4.2 MOVED that _____be appointed to the Nominating Committee for the term commencing October 1, 2011 and ending at the Annual meeting in 2013.
- 14. Other Reports and Information Items
 - 14.1 Appointment of Chairs/Directors
 - Dr. Michel Bedard Acting Chair of the Department of Health Sciences (July 1, 2011- June 30, 2012)
- Dr. Erin Gray Acting Director of the School of Social Work (July 1, 2011 – December 31, 2011)
- 14.2 Report of the Board of Governors' Representative to Senate (Mr. Kurt Dahl)
- 14.3 Annual Report of the Ogimaawin-Aboriginal Governance Council (formerly the Aboriginal Management Council) Ms. Nancy Bouchard
- 14.4 Mr. Cam Clark was appointed as the Board member to the Search Committee for a Dean of the Faculty of Natural Resources Management
- 14.5 Research and Innovation Creating the Future Now
- 14.6 Thunder Bay Art Gallery Information package & Schedule of Events

- 14.7 President's Report on Appeals Under the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures and Senate Academic Appeals
- 15. In Camera Meeting
 - 15.1 MOVED that Mr. Michael Pawlowski be asked to remain for Item 3.1 of the In-camera meeting.
 - 15.2 MOVED that the Board of Governors move to an In-camera meeting.

ADJOURN