Lakehead

BOARD OF GOVERNORS' MEETING #12-257 Friday, January 27, 2012 at 4:00 p.m. in the Senate Chambers

AGENDA

REMINDER: The Board/Alumni/LUSU dinner will be held following this meeting at 6:15pm. Doors open at 5:45pm. Seating is casual and dress is business casual. It will be located in The Study, down the hallway from the Senate Chambers near Security.

- Need for In Camera Items to be Declared
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Declaration of Conflict of Interest
- 4. Approval of Minutes of the Board of Governors' Meeting of November 4, 2011
- 5. Board Executive Committee Meeting December 8, 2011
 - 5.1 Based on the recommendations and on behalf of the Board of Governors, the Board Executive Committee approved the 2012-2013 Operating Budget Guidelines.
- 6. Business Arising from the Minutes (not on the Agenda elsewhere)
- 7. Chair's Report (Mr. Colin Bruce)
- 8. President's Report (Dr. Brian Stevenson)
 - 8.1 Strategic Planning Monitoring (2010-2013) (Mr. Gerry Munt)
- 9. Consent Agenda

MOVED that the Consent Agenda be approved.

- 9.1 Finance & Investment Committee Report
- 9.2 Governance Committee Report
- 9.3 Nominating Committee Report removed KR Jan 27, 2012
- 9.4 Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) Committee Report
- 9.5 Operations Committee Report
- 9.6 University Advancement Committee Report

9.7 Ratification of Adjunct Professors

- Dr. Timo Tiika be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Civil Engineering for the term July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2015
- Mr. Sacha Dubois be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Health Sciences for the term July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2015
- Dr. Lynn Marshall be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Health Sciences for the term July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2014.
- Dr. Chiachen Cheng be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Health Sciences for the term July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2014.
- Dr. Mitchell S. Albert be appointed as an Internal Adjunct Professor to the Department of Physics for the term July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2015.
- Dr. Simon Lees be appointed as an Internal Adjunct Professor to the Department of Biology for the term July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2015.

Promotion, Tenure, and Renewal effective July 1, 2012

- 9.8 Recommendations for Renewal of Probationary Appointments
 - Dr. Michelle-Marie Spadoni, School of Nursing
 - Dr. Herman van den Berg, Faculty of Business Administration
 - Dr. Sonia Mastrangelo, Faculty of Education
 - Dr. Frances Helyar, Faculty of Education
 - Dr. Pallavi Das, Department of History
- 9.9 Recommendations for Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor
 - Dr. Jane Nicholas, Department of History
 - Dr. Wensheng Qin, Department of Biology
 - Dr. Robert Stewart, Department of Geography
 - Dr. Kristin Burnett, Department of History
 - Dr. Hui Zhang, Faculty of Business Administration
 - Dr. Xuequn (Sherry) Wang, Faculty of Business Administration
 - Dr. David Richards, Faculty of Business Administration
 - Dr. Changguan Jiao, Faculty of Business Administration
 - Dr. Sandra Wolf, Faculty of Education
- 9.10 Recommendations for Renewal, Tenure, and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor

- Dr. Anne Marie Walsh, School of Social Work
- Dr. Wely Floriano, Department of Chemistry
- 9.11 Recommendations for Tenure
 - Dr. Philip Hicks, Department of Biology

Appointment of Chair

9.12 Dr. Michael Hoechsmann, Chair of the Department of Undergraduate Education in Orillia effective July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2014

Motions Arising out of Standing Committee Reports

- 10. Nominating Committee (Mr. Kevin Cleghorn)
 - 10.1 Student Appointments to the Judicial Panel

MOVED that the following <u>students</u> be appointed to the Judicial Panel for the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures for a one-year period commencing immediately to the 2012 Annual meeting.

- Timothy Michano
- Ulysses Patola
- Soula Kritikos
- Brielle Persall
- Carly Dorrington
- Ashley Cequeira
- Morgan Reilly
- David Pierce
- 10.2 Committee Appointments

MOVED that the following Board Standing Committee appointments be approved:

•	be appointed as the Chair of the Student Liaison
	Committee effective immediately through the Annual Board
	Meeting in 2012.
•	be appointed as the Chair of the Senate Liaison
	Committee effective immediately through the Annual Board
	Meeting in 2012.
	be appointed to the Board NOSM Committee effective
	immediately through the Annual Board Meeting in 2012.
•	be appointed to the Operations Committee effective
	immediately through the Annual Board Meeting in 2012.

- 11. Finance & Investment Committee (Mr. Chris Fernyc)
 - 11.1 MOVED that the Procurement Policy be approved.
 - 11.2 MOVED that the Approval Authority Policy be approved.
 - 11.3 MOVED that the Travel Expense Policy be approved.
 - 11.4 MOVED that the Hospitality (Entertainment) and Expense Policy be approved.
 - 11.5 MOVED that the Perquisites Policy be approved.
- 12. Semi-Annual Report on Occupational Health and Safety

MOVED that the Semi-Annual Report on Occupational Health and Safety be accepted.

13. Governance Committee (Ms. Frances Picherack)

Conflict of Interest Revisions to the Board By-laws

14. University Advancement Committee

MOVED that the University Advancement Committee Terms of Reference and Action Plan for 2011-2012 be approved.

15. Research Ethics Board Terms of Reference

MOVED that the Research Ethics Board Terms of Reference be approved with an effective date of April 1, 2012.

16. Information Items

- 16.1 Appointment of Acting Positions for information only
 - Dr. Joe Carney was appointed as Acting Chair for the Department of Biology effective January 1, 2012 to June 30, 2012.
 - Dr. Craig MacKinnon was appointed as Acting Chair for the Department of Chemistry effective January 1, 2012 to June 30, 2012
 - Dr. Tom Potter was appointed as Acting Director for the Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism effective September 12, 2011 to December 31, 2011.
 - Dr. Margaret Johnston was appointed as Acting Director for the Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism effective January 1, 2012 to June 30, 2012.

- 16.2 Reports from the Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre Board
 - November 2, 2011
 - December 7, 2011
- 16.5 Report of the Ogimaawin Aboriginal Governance Council Report (Mrs. Nancy Bouchard)
- 16.6 Report of the Board of Governors' Representative to Senate (Mr. Kurt Dahl)
- 16.7 Report from NOSM added KR January 27, 2012
- 16.8 Alumni Association Report added KR January 27, 2012
- 17. In Camera Meeting

ADJOURN