

Report on the June 10, 2022 Board of Governors Meeting

Members: Brandon Rhéal Amyot; Robert Arnone; Peter Caldwell; Dr. Claudine Cousins; Ann Dumyn; Dr. Don Kerr; Angela Maltese (Chair); Brian McKinnon; Dr. Moira McPherson; Pauline Mickelson; Ross Murray; Michael Nitz; Anna Sampson; Mark Smith; Cathy Tuckwell; Maria Vasanelli; Wendy Walberg; Debra Woods

The Board of Governors met on June 10, 2022 on the Orillia Campus. In accordance with the Board of Governors Bylaws, Article 7.2, video conferencing was also available for Governors participating remotely.

OPEN MEETING

The following items of business were dealt with during the open meeting:

Lakehead University Faculty Association (LUFA) Deputation:

LUFA members Gautam Das and Scott Pound gave a deputation to the Board on collegial governance. The presentation covered:

- mutual interests and shared responsibilities between Lakehead and LUFA
- commitment to quality academic programming in the face of mounting challenges
- risks that come into play when collegial governance is overlooked
- importance of ensuring transparency, trust, and inclusion among the diverse stakeholders of the university
- LUFA's pledge to work closely with the board to renew our commitment to collegial governance and a request to the Board to amend its composition to include a LUFA representative

Previous Minutes: The May 4, 2022 minutes were approved.

Presidential Search Update:

The Board Chair gave an update on the steps that have been taken to date regarding the presidential search:

- the Board Executive Committee set a goal to have the next President chosen and contract executed by December 31, 2022
- Leaders International was selected by the Board Executive Committee as the Executive Search Firm retained to assist in the presidential search
- development of the presidential mandate/opportunity profile is in progress
- establishment of the Presidential Search Committee (PSC), members include:
 - Angie Maltese (Board Chair/PSC Chair)
 - Robert Arnone (External Board of Governors Member)
 - Peter Caldwell (External Board of Governors Member)
 - Dr. Claudine Cousins (External Board of Governors Member)
 - Michael Nitz (External Board of Governors Member)

- Mark Smith (External Board of Governors Member)
- Cathy Tuckwell (External Board of Governors Member)
- Maria Vasanelli (External Board of Governors Member)
- Dr. Don Kerr (Senator on the Board of Governors)
- Dr. Douglas Ivison (Faculty Senator)
- Dr. Michael Stevenson (Faculty Senator)
- Brandon Amyot (Undergraduate Student)
- Haley MacLeod (Graduate Student)
- Anna Sampson (Full-Time Non-Faculty Staff Member)
- Valerie Stortini (OIEC Chair)
- Dr. Jula Hughes (SMT Member)
- Jamie Dennison (Lakehead Alumna)
- Barbara Eccles (Secretary of the Board, non-voting), assisted by Yvonne Roussel

2018-2024 Strategic Plan Progress Report (Year 4, Interim Report 2):

Administration provided the second progress report on year four implementation of the Strategic Plan and recommended that the Board consider extending the current Strategic Plan to allow for a smooth transition for the incoming President and for pandemic recovery.

• MOVED that the Board of Governors supports the extension of the current 2018-2023 Lakehead University Strategic Plan by two years. CARRIED

Updates, Reports and Presentations Received:

- President's Report
 - June 2022 Online President's Report
 - Report on Appointments
- Audit and Risk Committee Report (of the meeting held on May 19, 2022)
 - MOVED to approve the Lakehead University Pension Investment Fund Financial Statements. CARRIED
- External Relations Committee Report (of the meeting held on May 18, 2022)
- Finance and Operations Committee Report (of the meeting held on May 19, 2022)
 - MOVED to approve that Lakehead investments currently with CC&L remain unchanged for the time being, and that the University continues to work with CC&L to encourage them to create an investment solution consistent with the Board's decision. CARRIED
- Governance and Nominating Committee Report (of the meeting held on May 18, 2022)
- Learning and Liaison Committee Report (of the meeting held on May 18, 2022)
 - $\circ~$ MOVED to approve renewing the ICD Board membership that expires on May 31, 2022. CARRIED

Informational Items Received:

- Ogimaawin Indigenous Education Council Report (of the June 6, 2022 meeting)
- Senate Report (of the May 12, 2022 meeting)

IN CAMERA SESSION

An in camera session was held to discuss items of personnel, legal, or real estate nature, and other sensitive or confidential matters. The following items of business were dealt with in camera:

- Executive Committee In Camera Report (of the meetings held on March 3, April 6, 7, 9, 14 and 27, May 4 and 19, 2022)
- Governance and Nominating Committee In Camera Report (of the meeting held on May 19, 2022)
 - MOVED to approve that Pauline Mickelson be recommended to the Senate to serve as the Board Member on the Senate for a term commencing July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023. CARRIED
 - MOVED to approve that Brandon Rhéal Amyot be recommended to the OIEC as the Board Member on the OIEC for a term commencing July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023. CARRIED
 - MOVED to approve that Ann Dumyn and Cathy Tuckwell be appointed to the Board of the Professional Staff Pension Plan for one year, commencing at the close of the annual meeting in 2022 through to the close of the annual meeting in 2023. CARRIED
 - MOVED to approve that the following individuals be nominated for appointment as Officers of the Lakehead University Board of Governors for a term commencing at the close of the 2022 annual meeting and ending on the date set out below:
 - Chair: Maria Vasanelli commencing at the close of the 2022 annual meeting to the close of the annual meeting in 2024
 - Vice-Chair: Cathy Tuckwell commencing at the close of the 2022 annual meeting to the close of annual meeting in 2024
 - Past-Chair: Angela Maltese commencing at the close of the 2022 annual meeting and ending at the close of the annual meeting in 2024.
 - President: Dr. Moira McPherson ending June 30, 2023
 - Secretary: Barbara Eccles ending at the close of the annual meeting in 2024. CARRIED
 - MOVED to approve that the following individuals be appointed as Chairs of the following Board Standing Committees for a one year term, commencing at the close of the 2022 annual meeting, through to the close of the 2023 annual meeting:
 - BARC: Mark Smith
 - BERC: Michael Nitz
 - BFOC: Robert Arnone
 - BGNC: Peter Caldwell
 - BLLC: Cathy Tuckwell
 - BEC: Maria Vasanelli CARRIED
 - MOVED to approve the proposed Committee membership list as circulated and that the term for each member listed be for one year, commencing at the close of the 2022 annual meeting, through to the close of the 2023 annual meeting. CARRIED
- Presidential Annual Assessment Update
- Chair's Report
- President's Report

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors is on September 29, 2022 from 9:00am to 1:00pm (EDT).