

Report on the February 8, 2024 Board of Governors Meeting

Members: Rajni Agarwal; Brandon Amyot; Robert Arnone; Karen Boz; Peter Caldwell; Dr. Claudine Cousins; David Elliott; Thomas Kehoe; Dr. Don Kerr; Sunil Kumar; Pauline Mickelson; Michael Nitz; Anna Sampson; Dr. Gillian Siddall; Dr. Bryanna Scott-Kay; Mark Smith; Brent Sylvester; Cathy Tuckwell (Vice-Chair); Maria Vasanelli (Chair)

The Board of Governors held a regular scheduled meeting on February 8, 2024 on the Thunder Bay Campus. In accordance with the Board of Governors Bylaws, Article 7.2, video conferencing was also available for Governors participating remotely.

OPEN MEETING

The following items of business were dealt with during the open meeting:

- Chair's Report
- President's Report
 - February 2024 Online President's Report
 - Report on Appointments
 - Judicial Panel Faculty Appointment Recommendation:
 - MOVED that Dr. Tanya Kaefer be appointed to the Judicial Panel for a term commencing January 1, 2024 to June 30, 2024. CARRIED
- Audit and Risk Committee
 - o Report of the February 1, 2024 meeting
- Executive Committee
 - Report of the February 1, 2024 meeting
- External Relations Committee
 - Report of the January 31, 2024 meeting
- Finance and Operations Committee
 - Report of the November 2, 2023 meeting
- Governance and Nominating Committee
 - Report of the January 31, 2024 meeting
 - Board Bylaw Amendments:
 - MOVED that the Board approves the proposed Bylaw amendments to Article 10, as circulated, and to permit the University Secretariat to post the Board meeting materials publicly in advance of each Board meeting, at the Board's discretion.
 CARRIED

- MOVED that the Board approves the proposed Bylaw amendment to Article 8, as circulated. CARRIED
- Committee Assignment:
 - MOVED that the Board appointed David Elliott to the following Board Standing Committee, commending immediately, for the remainder of the 2023-24 term:
 - Board Learning and Liaison Committee CARRIED
- Board Officer Appointment:
 - WHEREAS Yvonne Roussel has resigned as Board Secretary effective January 1, 2022;

MOVED that the Board appoint Marcie Morrison as Interim Secretary of the Lakehead University Board of Governors for a term commencing immediately through to the end of her assumed duties of the Acting University Secretary. CARRIED

- Notice of Expiring Terms For Information:
 - Maria Vasanelli (Term: September 29, 2022-AGM 2024)
 - Robert Arnone (Term: October 1, 2021-AGM 2024)
 - Peter Caldwell (Term: May 1, 2021(partial)-AGM 2024)
 - Brandon Amyot (Term: October 12, 2023-AGM 2024)
 - Don Kerr (Term: October 1, 2021-AGM 2024)
 - Karen Boz (Term: September 29, 2022-AGM 2024)
- Learning and Liaison Committee
 - Report of the January 31, 2024 meeting
- First Progress Report on Strategic Plan Year 6

Informational Items Received

- Research and Innovation Week event details
- Supporting documentation for resolution approved electronically on December 12, 2023 (Pension Plan for Professional Staff of Lakehead University (LUF) Amendment 2023-3 and 2023-4)
- Ogimaawin Indigenous Education Council Report (of the December 4, 2023 meeting)
- Senate Report (of the January 15, 2024 meeting)
- 2023-24 Board of Governors Meeting Schedule (public meetings)

IN CAMERA SESSION

An in camera session was held to discuss items of personnel, legal, or real estate nature, and other sensitive or confidential matters.

The following items of business were dealt with during the in camera session:

- External Relations Committee
 - In Camera Report of the January 31, 2024 meeting

- Fellow of the University:
 - The Board approved new nominees to be added to the Fellow Nominees List, for future consideration.
- Finance and Operations Committee
 - In Cameral Report of the February 1, 2024 meeting
 - Budget and Enrolment Updates
- President's Report
 - NOUS Report

Items to be Reported in the Open Meeting

 President's Report on Renewal and Tenure/Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor: Exercising the authority delegated by the Board of Governors, the President and Vice-Chancellor, granted Renewal and Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor, to the following individuals, effective July 1, 2024:

Renewal of Probationary Appointments

- Ms. Joan Braun, Bora Laskin Faculty of Law
- Dr. Mirit Grabarski, Faculty of Business Administration
- Dr. Benjamin Maiangwa, Department of Political Science
- Dr. Sarah Olutola, Department of English
- Dr. Gary Pluim, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Alison Thompson, School of Nursing
- Dr. Libo Xu, Department of Economics

Renewal, Tenure and simultaneous promotion to Associate Professor

Dr. Leigh Potvin, School of Outdoor Recreation, Parks & Tourism

Renewal and Tenure

Dr. Adam Algar, Department of Biology

Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor

- Dr. Thangarajah Akilan, Department of Software Engineering
- Dr. Thiago Alves de Oliveira, Department of Computer Science
- Dr. Martin-Joe Ezeudu, Bora Laskin Faculty of Law
- Dr. Farhan Ghaffar, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Dr. Muditha Heenkenda, Department of Geography and the Environment
- Dr. Taryn Klarner, School of Kinesiology
- Dr. Jessica Metcalfe, Department of Anthropology
- Dr. Xin Yang Lu, Department of Mathematical Sciences
- Ms. Wendy Parkes, Bora Laskin Faculty of Law
- Dr. Gerardo Reyes, Departments of Biology and Sustainability Sciences
- Dr. Ashley Thomson, Faculty of Natural Resources Management

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors is March 22, 2024 from 9:00am to 1:00pm (ET).