## Lakehead

## Report from Senate Member on the Board of Governors - October 21<sup>st</sup>, 2013

Board of Governors Meeting - October 4th, 2013

This is my last report to Senate in regards to the Board of Governors.

There were many reports and agenda items included in the Board of Governors agenda. Some of these items The Board of Governors approved included:

- The appointment of BDO Canada as auditors for Lakehead University.
- A new policy regarding Board members seeking employment with Lakehead University.
- Updated the nominations procedures to reflect the new structure of the Board of Governors.

Included in this meeting was the approval of nomination of new members of the Board of Governors. These include:

- Dr. Christine Gottardo Senate member.
- Mr. Daniel Bacsa LUSU Member
- Mr. William (Bill) Keeler Alumni Association Member

The Board of Governors approved the Judicial Panel appointments for 2013-2014 which include:

- Dr. Gautam Das (Physics)
- Dr. Ron Davis (Psychology)
- Dr. Sonja Gover (Education)
- Dr. Robert Mawhinney (Chemistry)
- Prof. Michel Morton (Nursing)
- Dr. David Tranter (Social Work)
- Dr. Tamara Varney (Anthropology)
- Dr. Béatrice Vernier-Larochette (Languages

The Board of Governors approved the following positions:

Adjunct appointments:

• Dr. David Chapman be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Faculty of Science and Environmental Studies for the term July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2017.

- Dr. Christopher Murray be appointed as an Internal Adjunct Professor to the Faculty of Science and Environmental Studies for the term July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2017.
- Dr. Marcus Powloski be appointed as an External Adjunct Professor to the Faculty of Health and Behavioral Sciences for the term July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2017.
- Dr. Kristen Burnett be appointed as an Internal Adjunct Professor to the Faculty of Education for the term July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2017.

Appointment of Chairs/Directors

- Dr. Robert Petrunia, Chair of the Department of Economics, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014.
- Dr. Krishnamoorthy Natarajan, Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.
- Dr. Marg McKee, Director of the School of Social Work, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.
- Dr. Lionel Catalan, Chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.

Submitted by Carney Matheson, Senate Member Board of Governors