

Report on the June 9, 2017, July 9, 2017 and August 30, 2017 Board of Governors Meetings

From: Lou Pero - Board of Governors Member

The Board of Governors met on June 9, 2017 at the Orillia campus (and remotely from room UC2001, Thunder Bay campus).

Special guests Dr. Robert Bennett (Fellow of Lakehead University) and Ms. Lyn McLeod – Chancellor (Lakehead University) were in attendance.

The Board Chair provided a report that included a recap on the recent Lakehead/Georgian Memorandum of Understanding Agreement signing event and reception at Georgian College, Dr. Fedderson's retirement reception, and an update on Board recruitment and interviews, the Strategic Plan, the Northern Policy Institute, Thunder Bay convocation events and the Lakehead Achievement Program.

The President provided an overview of his June report that can be found on the Lakehead website at www.lakeheadu.ca.

A report on the 2016-17 Institutional Strategic Objectives was provided.

A report on external adjunct professors and Chair appointments was provided for information.

The Board accepted the reports of the six Board Standing Committees (Audit & Risk, Executive Committee, External Relations, Learning & Research, Governance & Nominating, Finance & Operations).

On June 9, 2017 the Board of Governors approved the following:

- Amendments to the Board Roles & Responsibilities of Members of the Lakehead University Board of Governors document and to make this document public
- Amendments to the Fellow of the University Procedures and Guidelines document
- Lakehead University Pension Investment Fund Audited Financial Statements
- 2017-18 Student Judicial Panel appointments

On June 9, 2017, during an in-camera session the Board approved the following:

- Renewal of probationary appointment: Dr. David Blaikie, Bora Laskin Faculty of Law
- Promotion to professor: Dr. David Greenwood, Faculty of Education; Dr. Dwight Mazmanian, Department of Psychology; Dr. Wensheng Qin, Department of Biology; Dr. Edward Rawana, Department of Psychology; Dr. Alla Reznik, Department of Physics; Dr. Pauline Sameshima, Faculty of Education; Dr. Chander Shahi, Faculty of Graduate Studies
- Presidential Search Committee appointments: David Tamblyn; Nancy Bouchard; Maria Phipps;
 Heather Murchison; Kathy Rippey; Lou Pero; Murray Walberg; Constance Russell; Ross Murray;
 Peter Hollings; Carney Matheson; Hillary Jones; Farhan Yousaf; Maria Vasanelli; Barbara Eccles

This item was provided for information: Lakehead University Recognition in the Senate of Canada (https://www.lakeheadu.ca/presidents-office/senator-art-eggletons-lakehead-speech-in-senate)

July 13, 2017 Board of Governors Special Meeting

The Board accepted reports from the Executive Committee and the Governance & Nominating Committee.

On July 13, 2017 the Board of Governors approved the following:

- Minutes of the meeting held on June 9, 2017
- Amendments to the 2017-18 Board of Governors meeting schedule

The Board held an in-camera meeting to discuss personnel, legal, or real estate nature items, and other sensitive or confidential matters.

August 30, 2017 Board of Governors Special Meeting

Mr. Michael Kennedy (Hicks Morley) was invited to attend the special meeting.

The Board accepted a report from the Executive Committee.

On August 30, 2017 the Board of Governors approved the following:

Minutes of the special meeting held on July 13, 2017

The Board held an in-camera meeting to discuss personnel, legal, or real estate nature items, and other sensitive or confidential matters.

On August 30, 2017, during an in-camera meeting, the Board of Governors approved the following:

 The appointment of Prof. Angelique EagleWoman to serve on the 2017 Presidential Search Committee to replace Nancy Bouchard

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors will be on September 28, 2017, Thunder Bay campus.