

Report on the February 1, 2019 Board of Governors Meeting

From: Sean Speer – Board of Governors Member

Members: Mr. Robert Arnone; Dr. Michel Beaulieu; Ms. Ann Dumyn; Dr. Christine Gottardo; Ms. Angela Maltese; Mr. Gerry Martin; Mr. Brian McKinnon; Dr. Moira McPherson; Mr. Ross Murray (Chair); Ms. Kathryn Rippey; Ms. Catherine Siemieniuk; Mr. Sean Speer; Mr. David Tamblyn; Ms. Cathy Tuckwell; Ms. Maria Vasanelli; Mr. Nathan Wainwright; Ms. Wendy Walberg

The Board of Governors met on February 1, 2019 on the Thunder Bay campus.

The Board approved the minutes of the November 29, 2018 regular meeting and the December 14, 2018 special in camera meeting.

The Board Chair verbally reported on the theme of the upcoming annual Board Retreat and gave a debrief on the annual Universities Canada Conference that he attended in December.

The President verbally reported on the following:

- Universities Canada Conference (December 2018)
- Recent trip to South Asia
- Launch of "Conversations with the President" internal engagement sessions

The following reports were provided for information:

- February 2019 President's Report online version
- Audit & Risk Committee In Camera Report (of the January 17, 2019 meeting)
- Board Executive Committee Regular and In Camera Report (of the December 14, 2018 meeting)
- Board of Governors Workplan progress report
- External Relations Committee In Camera Report (of the January 16, 2019 meeting)
- Finance & Operations Committee Regular and In Camera Report (of the January 17, 2019 meeting)
- Governance & Nominating Committee Regular and In Camera Report (of the January 16, 2019 meeting)
- Learning & Research Committee Report (of the January 16, 2019 meeting)
- Northern Ontario School of Medicine Activity Reports (November December 2018 and January - February 2019)
- Report on Appointments Chairs, Acting Chairs, External/Internal Adjunct Professors
- Senate Report (of the January 14, 2019 meeting)

The following presentations were received:

- Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures
- 2019 2024 Academic Plan
- Research & Innovation Week

The following motions were approved during the regular meeting:

- Approval of amendments to the Approval Authority Policy
- Effective as of May 1, 2019: Approval of the new Student Code of Conduct Non-Academic Policy; approval of the Student Code of Conduct – Appeal Policy; approval to rescind the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures, conditional upon Senate also approving the rescission of the Code of Student Behaviour and Disciplinary Procedures and the establishment of the Student Code of Conduct – Academic and the Student Code of Conduct – Appeal Policy
- Endorsement of the 2019 2024 Lakehead University Academic Plan

The President reported on renewal and tenure/simultaneous promotion to associate professor (as of December 2018). The following individuals were granted renewal and tenure and simultaneous promotion to Associate Professor, effective July 1, 2018 as detailed below:

Renewal of Probationary Appointments:

- Dr. Paul Cormier, Faculty of Education
- Dr. Michael Dohan, Faculty of Business
- Mr. Daniel Dylan, Faculty of Law
- Dr. Katherine Kortes-Miller, School of Social Work
- Dr. Ebraham Rezaei, Department of Chemical Engineering
- Dr. Kathy Sanderson, Faculty of Business
- Dr. Kathryn Sinden, School of Kinesiology
- Dr. Yushi Zhou, Department of Electrical Engineering

Renewal, Tenure and Simultaneous Promotion to Associate Professor:

- Dr. Charles Levkoe, Department of Health Sciences
- Dr. Beth Visser, Department of Health Sciences
- Dr. Erin Pearson, School of Kinesiology
- Mr. Sam Shahsahabi, Department of Visual Arts

An in camera meeting was held to discuss items of personnel, legal, or real estate nature, and other sensitive or confidential matters.

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors is March 2019, in the Senate Chambers (UC2002), Thunder Bay campus.