



MEMORANDUM

To: Barbara H. Eccles, Secretary of Senate

From: Dr. Douglas Ivison - Chair, Senate Teaching and Learning Committee

Senate Meeting Date: 15 January 2018

Subject: Senate Teaching and Learning Committee Report

The Senate Teaching and Learning Committee (STLC) met on November 24 and December 12.

The committee approved the Terms of Reference for the following sub-committees: Accessibility; Learning Spaces and Technology; and Writing and Communication.

The committee appointed faculty members to the following sub-committees: Accessibility; Teaching Awards; and Writing and Communication.

The Teaching Awards sub-committee revised the Contribution to Teaching Award Process document and presented a draft to STLC for discussion. A final draft will be presented to the January 9 STLC meeting.

The committee provided feedback on a draft of the Procedures Associated with the Policy on Accommodations and Access for Students with Disabilities/Medical Conditions.

The university will have comprehensive access to Lynda.com, an extensive e-learning site, as early as January 2018. The committee was given a preliminary presentation on this site, and will receive a more comprehensive presentation once the license is active.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Douglas Ivison
Chair, Senate Teaching and Learning Committee



MEMORANDUM

To: Barbara H. Eccles, Secretary of Senate

From: Dr. Douglas Ivison - Chair, Senate Teaching and Learning Committee

Senate Meeting Date: 15 January 2018

Subject: Senate Teaching and Learning Committee Report Part Two

The Senate Teaching and Learning Committee (STLC) met on January 9. Although it did not achieve quorum, the committee discussed the revisions to the Contribution to Teaching Award and the revisions to the Distinguished Instructor Award, which were approved by an e-mail vote.

The committee also approved the Terms of Reference for its Library sub-committee.

Motion: Moved that the revisions to the Contribution to Teaching Award be approved.

Motion: Moved that the revisions to the Distinguished Instructor Award be approved.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Douglas Ivison Chair, Senate Teaching and Learning Committee