

MEMORANDUM

To:	Barbara H. Eccles
	University Secretary
From:	Dr. Constance Russell
	Chair, Senate Research Committee 2016/2017
Senate Meeting Date:	Monday, April 10, 2017
Subject:	Senate Research Committee – Report to Senate

One SRC meeting occurred since my last report (March 24, 2017).

Research Awards

The winners of the Research Awards were announced during Research and Innovation Week. Congratulations to Drs. Jason Blahuta, Pallavi Das, and Vicki Kristman for receiving Contribution to Research Awards and to Dr. Wilson Wang for receiving a Distinguished Researcher Award.

Funds and Grants

The SRC reviewed and made recommendations on applications for the Faculty Development Fund, Publication Assistance, and Visiting Scholar Grants.

SRC Reorganization Report

In 2014, the SRC's structure was changed to ensure equitable Tri-Council (CIHR, SSHRC, NSERC) representation by adding CIHR members to the SRC. We have found this addition to be useful not only in providing qualified reviewers for CIHR-funded faculty members' applications but also in ensuring that perspectives of CIHR researchers are heard more generally. After evaluating the efficacy of the structure of having two subcommittees (NSERC/CIHR and SSHRC/CIHR) responsible for reviewing applications (e.g., Research Development Fund, Publication Assistance, Visiting Scholar Grant), the SRC will pilot having three subcommittees (CIHR, NSERC, SSHRC) to further improve the reviewing process and ease subcommittee workload.

Sincerely,

Constance L Russell

Dr. Constance Russell Chair, 2016-2017 Senate Research Committee