

Office of the University Secretariat

SPECIAL SENATE MEETING #6-2016 June 1, 2016 1:30pm Thunder Bay Location: SENATE CHAMBERS Orillia Location: OA 2005

MINUTES

Dr. Daniel Hannah

Dr. Timothy Hardie

Dr. Mary Louise Hill

Dr. Douglas Ivison

Mr. William Keeler

Mrs. Karen Keiller

Dr. Glenna Knutson

Dr. Sree Kurisserv*

Dr. Judith Leggatt Dr. R. Harvey Lemelin

Dr. Craig MacKinnon

Dr. Richard Maundrell

Dr. Hubert de Guise

Dr. Frances Helyar

Dr. Peter Hollings

Dr. Kristy Holmes

Dr. Isabelle Lemee

Dr. Apichart Linhananta

Dr. Donald Kerr

Dr. Joey Farrell Ms. Amanda Gallo

Dr. Ti King

Dr. Dean Jobin-Bevans*

In attendance

Dr. Brian Stevenson, Chair Dr. Razvan Anisca Dr. Maurice Benson Dr. Jason Blahuta Dr. Aristocles Carastathis Dr. Joseph Carney Mr. Jonathan Cowper* Mr. Daniel Glen Cox Dr. Bahram Dadgostar Dr. Gautam Das Dr. Isaam Dawood* Ms. Barbara H. Eccles, Secretary Dr. Kim Fedderson* Dr. Yanglin Gong

Regrets

- Dr. David Barnett Mr. Nicholas Baxter Dr. Michel Beaulieu Dr. Michel Bedard Dr. Paul Berger Dr. Patrick Cain Dr. Glenn Colton Ms. Deborah Comuzzi Dr. Qing-Lai Dang
- **Official Observers**

Mrs. Kathy Pozihun

Guests

Ms. Elizabeth Stafford

The meeting was called to order at 1:31pm.

Dr. Margaret McKee Dr. Moira McPherson, Vice-chair Dr. Lense Meyer Dr. Christopher Murray* Dr. Hassan Naser Prof. Gerald Phillips Dr. Antony J. Puddephatt Dr. Todd Randall* Ms. Yvonne Roussel, Recorder Dr. Murari Rov Dr. Ulf Runesson Dr. Chander Shahi Dr. Teresa Socha Dr. Michael Stevenson* Dr. Beatrice Vernier Dr. Xuequn (Sherry) Wang Dr. Lynn Martin Dr. Krishnamoorthy Natarajan

Dr. Krishnamoorthy Natarajan Dr. John O'Meara Prof. Karen Poole Dr. Jennifer Roth Dr. Marian Ryks-Szelekovszky Ms. Andrea Tarsitano Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux Dr. Elaine Wiersma

1. Approval of Agenda

The Secretary of Senate recommended that 2015-BUS-5441 – Indigenous Content Requirement listed under Item 4.1 be deleted from the agenda.

MOVED (M.L. Hill/B. Dadgostar) that the agenda be approved with all recommended revisions. CARRIED

- 2. Calendar Change for Referral
 - 2.1 Proposed Undergraduate Calendar Change for Referral

MOVED (D. Ivison/M.L. Hill) that the proposed Undergraduate Calendar Change be referred to the appropriate committees:

Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences
2016-HBS-5728 – Program Modification to Nursing re: ICR

CARRIED

- 3. Reports of Senate Standing Committees on Proposed Calendar Changes
 - 3.1 Senate Academic Committee Report

MOVED (D. Ivison/C. Shahi) that the Senate Academic Committee Report be accepted. CARRIED

3.2 Senate Undergraduate Studies Committee Report

MOVED (M. Stevenson/B. Dadgostar) that the Senate Undergraduate Studies Committee Report be accepted. CARRIED

3.3 Senate Budget Committee Report

MOVED (C. Shahi/H. Naser) that the Senate Budget Committee Report be accepted. CARRIED

- 4. Calendar Change Approvals
 - 4.1 Approval of Undergraduate Calendar Changes

MOVED (M. Stevenson/A. Carastathis) that the following Undergraduate Calendar Changes be approved with the friendly amendment noted under 2016-SOC-5681:

Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences

• 2016-HBS-5728 – Program Modification to Nursing re: ICR

Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities

 2016-SOC-5681 – Honours Bachelor of Outdoor Recreation (with Nature-Based Therapeutic Recreation Concentration) (originally submitted under request number 2015-SOC-5474)

A friendly amendment was proposed and accepted to replace GEOG 1120 with GEOG 1150 and GEOG 1190 within the above calendar change request.

 2016-SOC-5682-A – Programs-New-UG-Outdoor Rec-College Transfer Program Nature Based Therapeutic Recreation (originally submitted under request number 2016-SOC-5518)

CARRIED

5. Adjournment

MOVED (J. Leggatt/J. Cowper) that the meeting be adjourned. CARRIED

The meeting was adjourned at 1:39pm.

Dr. Brian Stevenson, President Chair of Senate Ms. Barbara H. Eccles Secretary of Senate